shortcut to content

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Crimes & Penalties

Page address: http://www.mnsu.edu/druginfo/penalties.html

Crimes and penalties can change with each legislative session.

  Sale Possession Penalty
First Degree 10+ grams cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine, 50+ grams of other narcotic drug, 200+ doses hallucinogen, 50+ kilos marijuana or 25 kilos in school, park, or public housing zone. 25+ grams cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine, 500+ grams of other narcotic drug, 500+ doses hallucinogen, 100+ kilos marijuana. 0-30 yrs., 4 yr. minimum if prior drug felony; up to $1 million fine. Imprisonment to 86 to 158 months.
Second Degree 3+ grams cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine, 10+ grams of other narcotic drug, 50 doses hallucinogen, 25+ kilos marijuana, or sale of Schedule I or II narcotic drug either to a person under 18 or in a school zone, park zone, public housing zone, or drug treatment center. 6+ grams cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine, 50+ grams of other narcotic drug, 100+ doses hallucinogen, 50+ kilos marijuana. 0-25 yrs., 3 yr. minimum if prior drug felony; up to $500,000 fine. Imprisonment to 48 to 108 months.
Third Degree Any amount of narcotic drug, 10+ doses hallucinogen, 5+ kilos marijuana, or sale of any Schedule I or II drug or marijuana to a person under 18 or employment of person under 18 to sell same, any amount of cocaine or heroin. 3+ grams cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine, 10+ grams of other narcotic drug, 10+ kilos marijuana, and 5 doses of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug in a school zone, park zone, public housing zone, or drug treatment center. 0-20 yrs., 2 yr. minimum if prior drug felony; up to $250,000 fine. Probation to 21-30 months; imprisonment 34-65 months.
Fourth Degree Any Schedule I, II, or III drug (except marijuana), or sale of marijuana in a school zone, park zone, or public housing zone or any Schedule IV or V drug to person under 18 or conspiracy for the same.. 10 doses hallucinogen, any amount of Schedule I, II, or III controlled substance (including GHB/not including marijuana) with intent to sell. 0-15 yrs., 1 yr. minimum if prior drug felony; up to $100,000 fine. Probation to 12-21 months; imprisonment to 25-41 months.
Fifth Degree Any amount of marijuana over 42.5 grams, or any Schedule IV drug. Any amount of Schedule I, II, III, or IV drugs except 42.5 grams or less of marijuana. Probation to 12-19 months; imprisonment 0-5 years, $10,000 fine.