shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

COVID-19 campus response and Return to Learn news and updates.

COVID-19 DAILY SELF SCREENING

×

Application

Page address: http://www.mnsu.edu/emergencygrant/application.html

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Emergency Grant Program

Minnesota State University, Mankato is pleased to offer an Emergency Grant Program to current Minnesota State Mankato students. 

What is an Emergency Grant?

Too often, financial emergencies spell the end of college for low-income students.

 For many students, an unexpected car repair or a medical bill can mean the end of their college hopes. While typically not large expenses, they can be enough to put these students in a serious bind: stay in college or pay the bill. By quickly delivering small grants to students encountering unexpected expenses, Minnesota State University, Mankato helps more of these students stay in school and on track for degree completion.

2019-2020 Eligibility

Eligible students will:

  • Be undergraduate, FAFSA- or MN Dream Act-eligible student with an Expected Family Contribution (EFC) of $8,000 or less; OR
  • Be graduate, FAFSA- or MN Dream Act eligible student with with an Expected Family Contribution (EFC) of $8,000 or less; OR
  • Be an International student in valid F-1/J-1 visa status (new as of April 2020); AND
  • Meet with a Grant Advisor to complete an Emergency Grant Application with expense documentation; AND
  • Be enrolled during the semester funds are awarded.

Students may only benefit from an emergency grant award once.

Who can apply?

Undergraduate and Graduate Students:

  • Meet with a Grant Advisor (listed below) to complete an Emergency Grant Application with expense documentation AND be enrolled during the semester funds are awarded.
  • Contact: Carolyn Nelson, Director of Scholarships, 507-389-5889

International Students:

Contact a Grant Advisor today to get started!

Monte Brown   Scholarships and Emergency Grants richard.brown-1@mnsu.edu 389-6416

Liz Steinborn-Gourley  Women's Center  elizabeth.steinborn-gourley@mnsu.edu   389-6397

Kellian Clink    Library Services     kellian.clink@mnsu.edu     389-5152

Amy Staloch     Student Success    amy.staloch@mnsu.edu     389-1346

George Corey     Upward Bound     george.corey@mnsu.edu     389-1212

Karen Anderson     Community Engagement     karen.anderson@mnsu.edu     389-5783

Sarah Henderson Lee     English     sarah.henderson-lee@mnsu.edu     389-1359

Sandi Schnorenberg     Security     sandi.schnorenberg@mnsu.edu     389-6849

Shirley Murray    Allied Health and Nursing     shirley.murray@mnsu.edu     389-6315

Emi Menk    Student Activities/Nontraditional Students     emi.menk@mnsu.edu     389-6076

Sadie Anderson   CSET Assistant Director   sadie.anderson@mnsu.edu    389-5498

Dave Engen     Communication Studies     david.engen@mnsu.edu     389-5537

Peter Hausladen   Student Success Coordinator   peter.hausladen.2@mnsu.edu   389-1011

Nancy Sprengeler    Educational Talent Search/TRIO  nancy.sprengeler@mnsu.edu     389-6068

Julie Snow    Accessibility Resources     julie.snow@mnsu.edu     389-1819

Ann Swartz-Beckius   OASIS Director of Retention    ann-marie.swartz-beckius@mnsu.edu    389-1028

Ben Thao   OASIS - Diversity and Inclusion     benjamin.thao@mnsu.edu     389-2674

Rosalin Cobb   OASIS - Diversity and Inclusion    rosalin.cobb@mnsu.edu     389-1175

Pakou Lee   OASIS - Diversity and Inclusion     pakou.lee@mnsu.edu     389-1032

Pat Lienemann     Library Services     pat.lienemann@mnsu.edu     389-1292

Greg Wilkins     Student Activities     Gregory.wilkins@mnsu.edu     389-6076

Kenneth Reid     African American and Mulicultural Affairs   kenneth.reid@mnsu.edu   389-6207

John Bulcock     Greek Life/Off Campus Housing     john.bulcock@mnsu.edu     389-5005

Tracy Stokes-Hernandez     Student Relations Coordinator     tracy.hernandez@mnsu.edu  389-1215

Kasi Johnson     College of Nursing     kasi.johnson@mnsu.edu     389-6810

Lindsay Smith    Academic Advisor- Arts and Humanities  lindsay.smith@mnsu.edu     389-1712

Beth Teigen     Student Support Services     beth.teigen@mnsu.edu     389-2797

David Gardner     LGBT  Center   david.gardner@mnsu.edu     389-1535

Mike Altomari     Concurrent Enrollment    michael.altomari@mnsu.edu     389-5119

Amy Roisum Foley     Director of Bands     amy.roisum-foley@mnsu.edu     389-2795

Amber Enz     MSSA     amber.enz@mnsu.edu     389-2611

Megan Huetmaker     American Indian Affairs Director    megan.huetmaker@mnsu.edu    389-5230

Karey Kalakain     Intercollegiate Athletics     karey.kalakian@mnsu.edu     389-1969

Tim Adams     Military & Veteran Success     tim.adams@mnsu.edu

Dawn Armfield     English     dawn.armfield@mnsu.edu     389-5511

Jodie Ward    Social & Behavioral Science     jodie.ward@mnsu.edu

Questions?  Contact: Carolyn Nelson, Director of Scholarships, carolyn.nelson@mnsu.edu, 507-389-5889