shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

HLC Assurance Sub-Committee

Page address:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC) Assurance Sub-Committee

The Sub-Committee is charged with reviewing the development of the University’s Assurance Argument and Evidence File in preparation for the University’s HLC Reaffirmation of Accreditation and Site Visit scheduled for March 28-29, 2016. In addition, the Sub-Committee is responsible for providing leadership and support for institutional involvement in reaccreditation activities and visits. The Sub-Committee will meet on a regular schedule and carry-out its work under the governance of the Assessment and Evaluation Sub-Meet.

Appointed representatives serve a term beginning in January 2015 and ending May 2016. Composition of the Sub-Committee is outlined below along with additional background information.

Andrea Lassiter, Professor, Co-Chair
Joan Roca, Dean of Library Services, Co-Chair
Don Larsson, Professor, Co-Chair (Spring 2015; Retired)

Lynn Akey, Coordinator and Academic Affairs Representative
Queen Booker, Undergraduate Curriculum and Academic Policy Sub-Meet Representative
Carrie Chapman, Assessment and Evaluation Sub-Meet Representative
Kirsti Cole
, Faculty Association Representative
Rhonda Dass, Previous Undergraduate Curriculum and Academic Policy Sub-Meet Representative
Julie Dornack, Classified Representative
Bobby Fleischman, Academic Affairs Representative
Kim Greer, Academic Affairs Representative
Mariah Haffield, MSSA Representative
Jeff Halbur, University Advancement Representative
Jude Higdon-Topaz, Information Technology Representative
Brian Jones, MSUAASF Representative
Jan Marble, Finance and Administration Representative
Pat Nelson, Planning Sub-Meet Representative
Roland Nord, Budget Sub-Meet Representative
Jessica Schomberg, General Education and Diversity Sub-Meet Representative
Pam Weller, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management Representative

Development of Sub-Committee Rationale/Background:
As Minnesota State University, Mankato transitioned from the PEAQ process for reaffirmation of accreditation to the Open Pathway process, a new structure to support accreditation activities was acknowledged by the Assessment and Evaluation Sub-Meet. The new Open Pathway process increases rigor by checking institutional data annually, incorporating an electronic system for reporting on institutional processes and submitting documentation, conducting Assurance Reviews twice within a ten-year cycle, and requiring Quality Initiatives. The previous institutional structure of a self-study committee that is convened every ten years would not be adequate to support the ongoing nature of the Open Pathway process.

The Assessment and Evaluation Sub-Meet has an advisory responsibility in ensuring the University is meeting accreditation requirements, adequately prepared for reaffirmation activities, and appropriately engaged in quality initiatives. The development of an HLC Assurance Sub-Committee was recommended by the Assessment and Evaluation Sub-Meet and Confer in January 25, 2013, unanimously supported by the Faculty Association Executive Committee on February 8, 2013, and adopted by the University on February 8, 2013.