shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Student Friendly

Page address:


Nominate a Deserving Staff Member Now 


2019 Vic Swenson Student Friendly Award Winner - Pakou Lee, Institutional Diversity

Pkaou Lee accepting his Student Friendly Award.



2018 Vic Swenson Student Friendly Award Winner - Kent Paulson, General Maintenance

Kent Paulson accepting his Student Friendly Award.


2016 Vic Swenson Student Friendly Award Winner - Lori Mart - Student Health Services

Lori Mart accepting her Student Friendly Award from Vic Swenson.


Vic Swenson, Student Friendly Award Namesake, Attends MSSA Inauguration Ceremony April 16, 2015

Vic Swenson, former Registrar, and the person the Student Friendly Award was named after in 1993, praised the Student Senate on April 16, 2014, for providing an opportunity for students to recognize consistently great customer service exercised by honored MSU employees in their day to day interactions with students.

Past Recipients Include






Sang Yang



Director of Diversity Initiative






Vang Tou Xiong



Department of Ethnic Studies






Queen E Booker



Department of Management






Paul Allan



Associate Director for Athletics Communications 

2011 Cheri Bowyer Administrative Assistant - Student Association Office
2010 Greg Wilkins Associate Director for Student Activities
2009 Clark Johnson Social and Behavioral Sciences
2008 Dr. Maria Tomany Modern Languages
2007 Laurie Woodward Director of the Centennial Student Union
2006 Lauren Long Student Leadership Development & Service Learning
2005 Linda Meidl College of Business
2004 Kip VanDyke Residential Life
2003 Thomas Gjersvig International Student Center Director
2002 Yvonne Schmeling Recreation, Parks and Leisure Services
2001 Lynette DiBrito Residential Life
2001 Mario Quintero Multicultural Affairs
2000 Maria Baxter Multicultural Affairs
1999 Walt Wolff Admissions Director
1998 Gael Mericle Learning Center
1997 Francis Goettl Student Union Maintenance Worker
1996 Michael T. Fagin Cultural Diversity
1995 Malcolm O'Sullivan Student Union
1994 Dave Ruthenbeck First Year Experience
1993 Vic Swenson Registrar's Office
1993 F. James Zwickey Student Union Director
1993 Neala Scheuling Women's Center
1993 Kuhn Lee International Student Office Director
1993 Georgene Brock Associate Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
1993 Mel Crane Student Union
1993 David Cowan Auxiliary Services Director
1993 Dave Hendel Career Development Center Director
1993 Neil Nurre Reporter Backshop Manager
1993 Mike Hodapp Student Union Associate Director
1993 Tippi Alm Business Office

Nominate a Deserving Staff Member Now (Due April 20, 2017)