Birchbark Books


About The Native American Literature Symposium





The Native American Literature Symposium is organized by an independent group of Indigenous scholars committed to making a place where Native voices can be heard.

Since 2001, we have brought together some of the most influential voices in Native America to share our stories—in art, prose, poetry, film, religion, history, politics, music, philosophy, and science—from our worldview.


Gwen N. Westerman, Director
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Virginia Carney, Tribal College Liaison
Leech Lake Tribal College

Gordon Henry, Jr., Publications Editor
Michigan State University

Tria Andrews, Vendor/Press Coordinator
University of California, Berkeley

LeAnne Howe, Arts Liaison
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Denise Cummings, Film Wrangler
Rollings College

Theo Van Alst, Film Wrangler

Jill Doerfler,
University of Minnesota, Duluth

James Sinclair,
University of Manitoba

Tyler Barton, Assistant to the Director
Minnesota State University, Mankato

NALS is proud to collaborate with the Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures. ASAIL is a professional academic organization created to promote the study, criticism, and research of American Indian written and oral literary traditions. ASAIL’s current membership includes leading scholars, writers, and activists committed to the interdisciplinary study of American Indian and indigenous languages, cultures, and aesthetic traditions.


Homepage | About NALS | Proposals | Registration | Program | Hotel & Travel | Awards | NALS Archive | Contact Us
Copyright 2013. The Native American Literature Symposium.