Birchbark Books



The Morning Star Flash Fiction Contest

Deadline and Details for 2017: To be announced

Prize: Free Registration for NALS 2017

Judge: To be announced

The Morning Star Flash Fiction Award is for an unpublished work of 800 words or less. Awarded piece is selected through a submission process open to all writers.

Procedure: We will be using a blind judging process for the sake of integrity. Please attach manuscript as a .doc or .pdf file without identifying factors (name, address, etc.) and include a brief bio in the body of the email. Use the link below to pay the entry fee. Note: manuscript will not be considered without payment.

Send submission to:

Morning Star Flash Fiction Contest

Sponsored by the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies:

The Beatrice Medicine Award for Scholarship in American Indian Studies

This award will be given for an outstanding essay and/or book. It is open to anybody who has published in Native American Studies for this calendar year, 2014. Previous winners and members of the NALS board are not eligible for the award.

Deadline: To be Announced

The award is voted on by the members of the Native American Literature Symposium board.

Past Winners:

2016 Winner:

2015 Winner:

2014 Winner:

2013 Winner: Phillip Carroll Morgan

Title: "The Maze of Colonialism: The Byrds of Virginia and Indian Territory," Journal of Chikasaw History and Culture, Vol. XIII, Number One (Spring 2012)

2012 Winner: Dean Rader

Title: Engaged Resistance: American Indian Art, Literature, and Film from Alcatraz to the NMAI

2011 Winner: Scott Richard Lyons

Title: "X-Marks: Native Signatures of Assent"

2010 Winner: Jill Doerfler

Title: "An Anishinaabe Tribalography: Investigating and Interweaving Conceptions of Identity during the 1910s on the White Earth Reservation"

2009 Winner: Susan A. Miller

"Native America Writes Back: The Origin of the Indigenous Paradigm in Historiography."

2008 Winner: Jodi Byrd

"Living My Native Life Deadly": Red Lake, Ward Churchill, and the Discourses of Competing Genocides."

2007 Winner: Robert Warrior, Jace Weaver, and Craig Womack

Title: "American Indian Literary Nationalism"

Past Winners of The Morning Star Award in Creative Writing

Winner of the 2012 Award: Annette Saunooke Clapsaddle
Title: Sololoneet

Winner of the 2011 Award: Saanii Adil'ini (Tacey Atsitty)

Winner of the 2010 Award: Sara Ortiz

Homepage | About NALS | Proposals | Registration | Program | Hotel & Travel | Awards | NALS Archive | Contact Us
Copyright 2013. The Native American Literature Symposium.