shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato


Page address:

The Honors Program Welcomes New First-Year Students

The Honors Class of 2017 includes six valedictorians and six students who were awarded major university scholarships



The Honors Program at Minnesota State University, Mankato is happy to welcome 37 new entering-first-year students who will join the Program in Fall 2013. The incoming honors students averaged a 28 on their composite ACT scores, and they completed their high school studies within the top 9% of their graduating classes.  This honors class of 2017, which includes six high school valedictorians, also includes six students who were awarded one of three major scholarships offered by Minnesota State Mankato.

The mission of the Honors Program at Minnesota State Mankato is to create future leaders, researchers and global citizens by providing high ability and motivated students with exceptional learning opportunities, mentoring relationships, and a community of scholars that foster their development as future leaders in a global society. For more information about the Honors Program, visit the web site at or contact the Program office at 507-389-5191.


Ellen Ahlness, an International Relations and Scandinavian Studies double major from White Bear Lake, MN, (V**)
Nina Bennett, an Information Systems major from New Prague, MN
Samantha Delzotto, an undeclared major from Eagan, MN
Mikyla Denney, an undeclared major from New Ulm, MN, (V)
Omar El-Omar, an Electrical Engineering major from Maplewood, MN
Megan Ford, a Pre-Medicine major from Yankton, SD
Abbey Fordyce, a Pre-Nursing major from Carroll, IA (*)
Brianna Fitzgibbons, a Psychology major from Underwood, MN
Sydney Geisness, an undeclared major from St. Croix Falls, WI
Taylor Glover, a Pre-Nursing major from Spencer, IA
Hailey Gorman, an undeclared major from Lakeville, MN
Adam Guss, a Physics major from Mankato, MN (**)
Madison Gutzman, a Biology major from Bentonville, AR
David Hastings, an Aviation major from Chanhassen, MN
Ryan Jensen, an Electrical Engineering major from Mankato, MN
Nicole Johnson, an undeclared major from Lake Geneva, WI, (V*)
Bethany Koshak, a Dance major from Tomahawk, WI
Heather Lee, an Accounting major from Lake Crystal, MN
Samantha Morelli, Pre-Pharmacy major from Stillwater, MN
Natalie Moses, a Pre-Medicine major from Somerset, WI
Margaret Neeck, a Theatre Arts and Secondary Education double major from Stacy, MN
Ali Oku, a Biochemistry Major from Lagos, Nigeria
Rebecca Osborn, a Biology major from Sumner, IA, (V)
Stephanie Peterson, a Biomedical Science major from Lino Lakes, MN (***)
Andrew Pfeffer, a Civil Engineering major from Windom, MN
Laura Pivovar, an undeclared major from Omaha, NE
Amanda Roche, an Elementary Education major from Hastings, MN
Samuel Ruhland, a Computer Engineering major from St. Paul, MN
Abigail Schmidt, an undeclared major from Redwood Falls, MN
Michala Schramm, an Accounting major from Whitewater, WI
Derek Schultz, a Mathematics and Pre-Engineering double major from Marshall, MN
Marysa Storm, a Biology major from Owatonna, MN
Samantha Swanson, an Elementary Education major from Buffalo Lake, MN
Alexa Turgeon, an undeclared major from Lonsdale, MN
Morgan Vetch, a Family Consumer Science and Exercise Science double major from Freeman, SD,(V)
Trisha Walker, a History and Anthropology double major from Kenyon, MN
Mark Wickelgren, an Economics and Biological Sciences double major from Cary, NC, (V**)

(V)      Valedictorian of High School Class
(*)      Recipient of Dean Scholar Award
(**)   Recipient of Presidential Scholar Award
(***) Recipient of Meredith Scholar Award

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,413 students, is part of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system, which comprises 31 state institutions.



Email this article | Permanent link | Honors news | Honors news archives