shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato


Page address:

Honors Beacon Wins National Newsletter Award

Honors newsletter awarded first place out of 19 print submissions


The Honors Program at Minnesota State, Mankato is proud to announce that the Honors Beacon newsletter was named the first place winner of the National Collegiate Honors Council’s Newsletter Contest. Issues VII and VIII of the Honors Beacon were submitted spring 2015 to the student print newsletter contest, and awarded first place out of 19 print submissions.

The Honors Beacon newsletter is a twelve page bi-annual newsletter produced by honors students under the leadership of Editor-in-Chief, Rachael Igo’16 (Creative Writing; Mendota Heights, Minn.) Students who contributed to the winning issues of the Honors Beacon as writers, photographers, and copy editors in the 2014-2015 academic year include Sarah Aldrich, Sara Baranczyk, Laura Cattrysse, Sarah Gorman, Libby Guss, Katelynn Malecha, Karen Muller, José Lopez Muñoz, Jessica Staricka, and Trisha Walker.
The award will be officially presented at the 2015 NCHC national conference in Chicago this November. Rachael Igo will be attending the conference and accepting the award at the ceremony on the Honors Program’s behalf.

The mission of the Honors Program at Minnesota State University, Mankato is to create future leaders, researchers and global citizens by providing high ability and motivated students with exceptional learning opportunities, mentoring relationships, and a community of scholars that foster their development as future leaders in a global society. For more information about the Honors Program at Minnesota State Mankato, see

To view online PDF versions of the Honors Beacon newsletter, please visit

To learn more information about NCHC, visit


Email this article | Permanent link | Honors news | Honors news archives