shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Minnesota State Mankato to confer first doctoral degrees

May 9 commencement

Conferring the system's first doctorates.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office news release [5/5/2009]

The first doctoral degrees to be awarded by the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system will be conferred at Minnesota State University, Mankato during spring commencement Saturday, May 9.

Four candidates will receive doctor of nursing practice degrees at the university’s Saturday noon ceremony for the College of Allied Health & Nursing and the College of Graduate Studies. The four are LaDonna D. McGohan of Rochester, Natalie Rosen of Spring Park, Minn., Laura M. Vesel of Blaine and Ellen D. Vorbeck of Mankato. The ceremony will be in Bresnan Arena of Taylor Center.

The doctor of nursing practice degree program is offered by a Minnesota State Colleges & Universities consortium of Minnesota State Mankato, Minnesota State Moorhead, Winona State University and Metropolitan State University.

In 2005 the Minnesota Legislature authorized Minnesota State Mankato and other four-year Minnesota State Colleges & Universities institutions to offer applied doctorate degrees. Two Minnesota State Mankato programs – the doctor of nursing practice and the Ed.D in counselor education and supervision – were approved and accredited in 2007, and candidates began studying that fall.

Since then two additional Minnesota State Mankato doctoral programs were approved – the doctor of psychology in school psychology and the Ed.D. in educational leadership.

The doctor of nursing practice program is for nurses with a master’s degree whose goal is advanced clinical, organizational and leadership competency. It is intended to develop front-line leaders for hospitals, clinics, schools of nursing and other health-care entities.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system comprises 32 state universities, community colleges, technical colleges and combined community and technical colleges located on 54 campuses across the state. The system serves approximately 250,000 students annually in credit-based courses and another 140,000 in non-credit courses.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives