shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Global Citizen Awards

Eight Minnesota State Mankato faculty to be honored Nov. 16.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office, 11-15-2012

Mankato, Minn. – Eight Minnesota State University, Mankato faculty members will be honored as “Global Citizens” in a reception and Global Citizen Award ceremony from 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. on Friday, Nov. 16 in the Centennial Student Union’s Heritage Room.

The award recognizes faculty and staff who have made a major contribution to globalization efforts at the University, and this year’s honorees include William Anderson (Social Work); Robin Wingo (Social Work); Cyrus Azarbod (Computer and Information Sciences); Evan Bibbee (World Language & Cultures); Chris Black-Hughes (Social Work): Elizabeth Sandell (Educational Studies: Elementary & Early Childhood); Kristen Cvancara (Communication Studies) and Christopher Stevens (Philosophy).

This is Minnesota State Mankato’s sixth annual Global Citizen Award ceremony, a regular event during the celebration of Diversity & International Education Week. The reception is not open to the general public. Media interested in more information on the Global Citizen Awards or interested in attending the reception may contact Caryn Lindsay, director of international programs at Minnesota State Mankato, by phone at 507-389-1281 or by email at

The Global Citizen awards will be presented by Minnesota State Mankato Interim Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs Linda Baer and the Kearney International Center.

William Anderson & Robin Wingo (Social Work) are being recognized for their leadership with the Bristol International Credit Earning Program (BICEP) in England. For more than 10 years, they have encouraged and accompanied Minnesota State Mankato students as they compared social policies in the U.S. and Britain.

Cyrus Azarbod is responsible for sending nine Computer Information Science students to study abroad this year at the Mankato partner HAN University. This innovative new project expands the HAN University partnership and gives students real-world experience while also studying abroad in the Netherlands.

Evan Bibbee is committed to maintaining the quality and longevity of Minnesota State Mankato’s Summer Study in France Program. He is a tireless advocate for the French program abroad and continues to work closely with students to ensure their success abroad. Bibbee has also contributed to the work of the International Programs Advisory Council.

Chris Black-Hughes is being recognized for her role in establishing an exchange and study abroad program with the Department of Social Work and Social Development at the University of Fort Hare, East London, South Africa. Likewise, she has been instrumental in establishing field education practicums for social work students from our institution in South Africa, as well as welcoming African students to our institution.

Elizabeth Sandell established a successful partnership with Northeast State University in Magadan, Russia. Sandell has single-handedly promoted, advocated, and built the foundation upon which these two universities have been able to come together in global partnership through education.

Faculty recipients of J. William Fulbright scholarships from the U.S. Department of State are also among those being honored. Fulbright faculty honorees include Kristen Cvancara (Communication Studies – 2012 Fulbright Scholar in Finland) and Christopher Stevens (Philosophy – 2010 Student Fulbright Award in Norway).

During the ceremony, faculty member Donna Casella (English) will provide information about the development of the University’s newest exchange partner, Queens University, Belfast. Azarbod (Computer Information Science) will discuss the new HAN program.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,413 students, is part of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system, which comprises 31 state institutions.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives