shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Faculty Members Win Minnesota Book Awards

Gwen Westerman and Geoff Herbach honored.

Edie Schmierbach, Mankato Free Press, 4-16-2013

Authors who live in Mankato and North Mankato are recipients of 2013 Minnesota Book Awards.

Gwen Westerman’s col­lection of oral histories and archival works examining the history of the Dakota people and their connection to their traditional home­land, was named the Award for Minnesota winner dur­ing the 25th annual Minnesota Book Awards Saturday in St. Paul.

Westerman, a professor of English and humanities at Minnesota State University who lives in Mankato, co- authored “Mni Sota Makoce: The Land of the Dakota” with Bruce White. Their book was pub­lished by Minnesota Historical Society Press.

The Minnesota Award is sponsored by Meyer, Sherer and Rockcastle.

Geoff Herbach’s book, “Nothing Special,” received the Young People’s Literature award. He teach­es creative writing at MSU and lives in North Mankato.

A total of 256 books received nominations for the Minnesota Book Awards, a project of the Friends of St. Paul Public Library in consortium with the library and the city of St. Paul.

The entire version of this story can be read in a print copy of the Mankato Free Press. Call the Mankato Free Press at 625-4451 or (800) 657-4662 to find out how to purchase a print copy. The Free Press also prints select stories online at

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives