shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Minnesota State Mankato, Riverland Announce International Pathway Agreement

Agreement promotes degree completion opportunities for international students.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office News Release, 3-5-2015

Mankato, Minn. – Minnesota State University, Mankato and Riverland Community College jointly announced today a partnership between the two institutions that offers international degree-seeking students seamless transfer from Riverland to Minnesota State Mankato while also promoting English language acquisition.

The “Future Maverick Program, International Pathway Agreement” is designed to increase access, enrollment and degree completion for international students to Riverland and Minnesota State Mankato.

This agreement supports the shared vision to foster global citizenship across diverse campuses, communities and world.

Minnesota State Mankato President Richard Davenport (at left in photo above) and Riverland President Adenuga Atewologun (at right in photo above) made the announcement official by signing a memorandum of understanding at a ceremony at Riverland’s campus in Owatonna, Minn.

“Riverland Community College has always been a destination college for International Students,” said Atewologun. “This new agreement offers an enhanced pathway to pursue academically focused English language skills and cultural experiences while students prepare to enter Minnesota State University, Mankato or other higher education pursuits. Riverland students benefit from existing robust multicultural opportunities and new activities specifically designed for the incoming international students that enables our college communities to learn from each other, preparing our students for a global future.”

“Riverland Community College and Minnesota State Mankato have a shared commitment to providing educational opportunities for international students,” said Davenport. “This agreement is just the latest example of that commitment, and it also demonstrates the ongoing collaboration within the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.”

International students who participate in the program will be provided guaranteed college admission if they meet certain terms. Students in the program will also be conditionally admitted to Minnesota State Mankato to promote pathways to baccalaureate education and to strengthen the VISA application process.

Students who participate in the “Future Maverick” program will consult with academic advisors from both institutions to ensure their academic plans meet degree requirements. Participating students must also meet academic progress requirements and each institution’s standard policies and procedures.

Students in the program will also be eligible to receive Minnesota State Mankato’s Cultural Contribution Scholarship to use to offset tuition, if they meet grade point average and course load requirements and also complete 25 contribution hours each semester.

For more information and specific Minnesota State Mankato admissions requirements, please contact David Jones, vice president for student affairs and enrollment management, by phone at 507-389-2121 or by email at

For more information and specific Riverland admissions requirements, please contact Nel Zellar, director of admissions and new student relations, by phone at 507-433-0832 or by email at

Riverland Community College, a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, is a community college that inspires personal success through education. Approximately 4,900 students are served annually through a wide range of credit-based educational opportunities. An additional 5,400 students are annually served in non-credit courses. Campuses are located in Albert Lea, Austin, and Owatonna, Minn. Riverland may be found on the Internet at

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,376 students, is part of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system, which comprises 31 state institutions.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives