shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

COVID-19 campus response and Return to Learn news and updates.



News Highlights

Page address:

Student Formula SAE Team Excels at International Competition

Minnesota State Mankato team finished 17th among 120 teams overall, highest among teams from Minnesota and 11th among U.S. teams.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office News Release, 6-2-2016

NOTE: The photos shown were taken by Brandon Lyzhoft and published here with permission of Brandon Lyzhoft. A slideshow of Lyzhoft's photos is available here.

Mankato, Minn. – A student team from Minnesota State University, Mankato’s Department of Automotive and Manufacturing Engineering Technology recently finished 17th out of 120 teams from 12 countries at the Formula Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) competition, held at the Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn, Mich.

The Minnesota State Mankato Formula team, whose car is pictured, finished 11th among teams from United States institutions and topped the two other Minnesota universities in the May 11-14 competition (the University of Minnesota finished 18th and the University of Minnesota-Duluth finished 56th).

The event, an international student design competition sponsored by SAE International, tests the skills of student teams in designing, building and competing with small Formula One-style racing cars.

The student teams build their cars over a period of about one year and then take them to the Michigan competition to compete against other school teams.

Amber Cederholm, a senior, was the Minnesota State Mankato team captain this year—marking the first time the team has had a female captain. In that role, Cederholm was in charge of communications, logistics and overall management of the team. For more information, contact Cederholm by phone at 507-269-1557 or by email at

Other team members included: chassis team captain Steven Thuening and chassis specialists Jordon Bachmeyer, Sam Bohlig, William Cahyadi, Taylor Fawley, Alex Georgacas, Joe Jaspers, Mark Krinke, L Seng PhoneAung, Alex Sheldon, Brett Thomas and Collin Stroth; engine team captain Eric Pelletier and engine specialists Dirk Holman, Olumide Ige, Jake Mehsikomer, Baylen Rifleman, Tom Thuening and Chris Vrabel; and logistics specialists Malachi McGinnis and Kyle Willette. Also helping was graduate student Sam Ertl.

For more information on Minnesota State Mankato’s Formula SAE team, contact Bruce Jones, professor in the Department of Automotive and Manufacturing Engineering Technology, by phone at 507-389-6700 or by email at

Minnesota State Mankato’s Department of Automotive and Manufacturing Engineering Technology is part of the University’s College of Science, Engineering and Technology.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,193 students, is part of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system, which comprises 31 state institutions.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives