During the 1997 KCACTF National Festival in Washington, DC, Katie Robinson, past National Chair, called together a group of past and present KCACTF leaders.   This group of 39 friends from across the country agreed that we should continue to support and expand the programs and opportunities provided by KCACTF.   The following year, Ms. Robinson again convened the group, under the name KCACTF Distinguished Alumni.   Dues were established and members were sought.   We embraced the task of perpetuating the Classical Acting Award, established in 1995, given annually at the Irene Ryan Evening of Scenes.   In April, 2000, the executive committee of the Distinguished Alumni expanded to include design constituencies. During the next three years, we experienced healthy growth in both membership and donations.   In order to better achieve our goals, we began the process of incorporation as a non-profit organization.   As part of that process, and to make the organization more inclusive, weadopted the name National Partners—American Theatre .   NAPAT was officially registered as a non-profit organization in May 2003, with this mission:

            ". . .to support activities of the next generation of theatre artists . . .to give support to significant educational theatre programs.   [We] sponsor awards and scholarships in Theatre; serve as a resource for theatre organizations on the regional and national levels; donate monetary support for projects,   (and)   provide historical perspective to educational theatre organizations."

In 2003, we enhanced the Classical Acting Award by supporting four weeks of training at LAMDA for the winner.   We look forward to exploring other opportunities for student and faculty participants in KC/ACTF, such as master classes at the National Festival, additional performance opportunities for playwriting winners, and international theatre tours.


Classical Acting 2012

NAPAT Board Member Paul J. Hustoles presents the NAPAT National Classical Acting Award
to the 2012 winner, Becca Ingram, from Brigham Young University.

John David Lutz receives honorary title Emeritus Partner of American Theatre
Milly Barranger receieves honorary title Emeritus Partner of American Theatre
Sam Smiley receives honorary title Emeritus Partner of American Theatre
David Young receives honorary title Emeritus Partner of American Theatre

Cruz wins first playwriting award

Playwrighting winner

Jaime Cruz (University of Wyoming), the first ever NAPAT Award for Playwriting Excellence

Jaime Cruz is a playwright from Wyoming. He studied acting at Casper College, and earned his BFA
for theatre/playwriting at the University of Wyoming. His plays have been read/developed
at the Last Frontier Conference in Alaska, the American College Theatre Festival at the Kennedy Center
and more recently, Seattle Repertory Theater. His plays have been performed at the University of Wyoming,
Evergreen College and through the City of Laramie Summer Theatre Workshop. He has worked on educational
commissions for the University of Wyoming and his work has been published in the Casper College Expressions Magazine.
Jaime has been a national finalist for the John Cauble Award for his play Dead in the Kitchen and a winner of the
NWDC/NPA Play Competition for Videotape or Lupe at the End of the World. He is a member of the Dramatists
Guild. Jaime wants to continue telling stories of family, cultural collision and Wyoming.


Jordan Brodess, Classical Acting
Award Winner 2011

2010 NAPAT Excellence in Theatre Design Award Winner—Lloyd Cracknell's
Is He Dead (University of Oklahoma)


Emeritus Partner Awards
Dr. Gresdna Anne Doty
Ming Cho Lee
Bob Buseick
Julie Jensen
Marty Bennesen

In Memoriam
Carole Brandt


(Download Word document with information)

National Partners will select the judge(s) for this award.


Fall 2016
Summer 2016 Newsletter
Spring 2016 Newsletter
Spring 2015
Fall 2014 Newsletter
Spring 2014 Newsletter
Fall 2013 Newsletter
Spring 2013 Newsletter
Fall 2012 Newsletter
Spring 2012 Newsletter
Spring 2011 Newsletter
Fall 2010 Newsletter
Spring 2010 Newsletter
Spring 2009 Newsletter
Winter 2008 Newsletter
Spring 2008 Newsletter
Winter 2007 Newsletter
Summer 2007 Newsletter
Spring 2007 Newsletter
Summer 2006 Newsletter
Fall 2005 Newsletter (PDF 136 KB)
Spring 2005 Newsletter
Winter 2004 Newsletter


Spring (April) 2017 meeting
Spring (April) 2016 meeting
Spring (April) 2015 meeting
Fall (October) 2014 meeting
Fall (October) 2013 meeting
Spring (April) 2013 meeting
Fall (October) 2012 meeting
Fall (October) 2011
Spring (April) 2011
Fall (October) 2010
Spring (April) 2010 meeting
Fall (August) 2009 meeting
Spring (April) 2009 meeting
Spring (April) 2009 meeting
Fall (October) 2008 meeting
Fall (October) 2007 meeting
Spring (April) 2007 meeting
Fall 2006 Board meeting
Spring 2005 meeting

Chronological listing

NAPAT Board (Word document)

2007-2008  NAPAT Partners
(To new fiscal year beginning May 1 2007)
(A=Associate, I= Institutional Partner)

Bennison, Martin
Buseick, Robert
 Cavarozzi, Joyce
CSU, Fullerton
Columbia Basin College
College of Fine Arts-UNLV
Conaway, Lin
Crawford, Jerry
Devine, Lawrence
Dewey, Evelyn
Edelnant, Jay
Finn, Donn
Friesen, Lauren
Gibbs, Andy
Greer, Jim
Hustoles, Paul J.
Hutchinson, P. Wm.
Kauffman, Robert
Koep, Jeff
Marley, Harlene
Moe, Chris
Parker, Harry
Perry, Elaine
Robinson, Katie
Rutledge, Gretel Geist
Sawyer, Ray
Schwartz, Bonnie
Shawger, Kip*
Sloan, Roberta
Stump, Walter*
Tammi, John
Terroso, G.*
Wade, Jere
Willis, Ronald
Wright, Jack
York, Will
Young, David
Zivanovic, Judith

Irene Ryan nominees from the 2005 festival.


The Classical Acting Award , a $2500 fellowship to a major professional
acting training program, such as the London Academy of Music and Drama
Art, is presented to one of the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship national
finalists. The goal of the award is to foster the finest in classical acting.
The National Partners-American Theatre believe that the best acting
stems from a classical base.   For this award, classical selections are
defined as dramatic material written prior to the 20th century.
The Classical Acting Award is funded through the National
Partners-American Theatre, a non-profit corporation dedicated to
developing young theatre artists.