Tobacco Road
April 26-29, 2009
Directed by Jerry Jay Cranford
Scenic Design by Amanda Rozmiarek
Costume Design by Molly Smith
Lighting Design by Grant E. Merges
Sound Design by Paul Wilson

Jeeter (Craig Daniel Stastny) in his routine pose on the porch.

Sister Bessie (Lolly Foy) leads the Lester family in prayer. They are (left to right):
Jeeter (Craig Daniel Stastny), Grandma (Laura D. Thaisen) and Ada (Nicole Pullaro).

Sister Bessie puts Dude (Alex Gullikson) in a headlock while Ada and Jeeter go about their business.

Left: Captain Tim (Tim Gagne) visits the Jeeters to tell them they are must leave the farm;
right: George Payne (Alex Letsche) must face Jeeter's angst.

Pearl (Molly Tucker) is the apple of Ada's eye.

Ada lies dying while her family looks on with an apparent lack of concern.

Photos by Mike Lagerquist

Director Jay Cranford talks about Tobacco Road:

Why did you choose this show to direct? Listen

Tell us a bit about the story in Tobacco Road. Listen

Setting is very important, especially in this show. Tell us about it. Listen

What has been your challenges in preparing the cast? Listen

What are both the challenges of the show and the reasons people should come see it? Listen


Set during the Depression in the depleted farmlands surrounding Augusta, Georgia, Tobacco Road
was first published in 1932. It is the story of the Lesters, a family of white sharecroppers so destitute
that most of their creditors have given up on them. Debased by poverty to an elemental state of
ignorance and selfishness, the Lesters are preoccupied by their hunger, sexual longings and fear that
they will someday descend to a lower rung on the social ladder than the black families who live near them.

Erskine Caldwell (1903-1987) was born in Newnan, Georgia. He became one of America's most widely
read, prolific and critically debated writers, with a literary output of more than sixty titles. At the time
of his death, Caldwell's books had sold eighty million copies worldwide in more than forty languages.
He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1984.