shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Project of the Year

Page address:

Each spring, the Commission recognizes outstanding projects pertaining to women and / or gender issues by awarding a Project of the Year Award to members of the following groups:

Undergraduate students

Graduate students



This award recognizes student and faculty excellence in creative endeavors (including the arts) and scholarly work pertaining to women and/or gender-related issues that impact women. We invite students and faculty members to submit original work for consideration.  Award recipients will be honored at the annual  Women of Courage and Vision Awards reception in spring semester, and will receive a $250 award.

Student submissions must be original work either submitted for academic credit during their academic career at MSU, Mankato or research presented in a public forum.

Faculty submissions must be original work in progress or work completed for presentation or publication after March of the previous academic year.

Topics could include, but are by no means limited to, the following themes:

  • Feminist activism
  • Women, body-image and popular culture
  • Women's autobiography
  • Women, sex and identity
  • Intersections among race, class and gender
  • Women's health issues
  • Global feminisms
  • Girls' coming-of-age

Individuals should include a reflection (no more than 350 words) with their Project of the Year submissions in which they explain the significance of their project and discuss its relevance to women.

Submissions will be reviewed by a Commission on the Status of Women sub-committee. The outstanding project selected from each category (undergraduate, graduate, faculty) will be honored at the annual Women of Courage and Vision Awards reception in March.

**All grant applications will automatically be considered for Project of the Year**

Submission guidelines:

    Click on "undergraduate," "graduate" or "faculty" and fill out the online submission form. You will then need to upload your project (please upload picture files of artwork, etc. if creative work) and reflection. Multiple files can be attached as .zip files. The Commission is no longer accepting paper copy applications.


***The final submission deadline will be announced in Spring 2018*** 

**Applicants will be notified via email after all applications have been reviewed. Recipients will be honored at the Women of Courage and Vision Reception**

 If you have any questions, contact Shalinie Bandaranayaka, the Commission graduate assistant, at


Congratulations to the 2015-2016 Project of the Year award winners:

Faculty: Brooke Burk, Robyn Ceurvorst and Erin Peterson for " Identification of physiological, psychological and environmental factors that prevent obese female adults from effectively loosing weight"


Undergraduate: Rachael Igo and Hailey Gorman for "Students' Feminist identification and values at Minnesota State Mankato"