

Vision

To be the Malcolm Baldrige of quality councils!

Mission

To promote quality by providing:

- KNOWLEDGE for improved community;
- RECOGNITION of excellence; and
- OPPORTUNITY to learn and network.

Mankato Area Council for Quality Executive Board Meeting Minutes Tuesday, February 12, 2008 Holiday Inn, Civic Center Mankato, Minnesota 11:30 a.m.

Members Attending: Amy Ites, Carol Stallkamp, Gloria Zachow, Jeff Halla, Dick Pedersen, Matt Chmielewski

Guest: Kathy Clifford, Director of Admissions, Rasmussen College

President Matt Chmielewski welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Secretary's Report:

The minutes from the previous meeting were reviewed and approved with the deletion of a paragraph from a previous meeting's minutes.

Treasurer's Report:

Gloria Zachow's report indicated a balance of \$3,380.39 in the checking account and a balance of \$597.82 in the savings account. (See attached report.) Gloria will provide a report at the March meeting on the status of membership dues collection. It was moved and seconded that the report be accepted. Motion approved.

Business Items discussed:

Matt indicated that he had met the previous week with Brian Lassiter, President of the Minnesota Council for Quality. He distributed a copy of a power point presentation that Brian had shared with him which provides an introduction to the mission of the Minnesota Council for Quality. (See attached.)

Matt led a brief discussion about a recent professional development presentation sponsored by Greater Mankato Growth, entitled "Shift Happens!" Jim Feldman presented on January 17, 2008.

Jeff Halla provided information on the upcoming presentation on March 13, 2008 by John Tscholl, Service Quality Institute. Mr. Tscholl will speak on customer service at South Central College from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. The Mankato Area Council for Quality had previously agreed to co-sponsor the event with ASQ and to provide advertising. We

approved sending out fliers to members and paying for 1 advertisement in the *Mankato Free Press*.

Matt suggested a MACQ blog. He is aware of a service that is free and could perhaps be linked to our website. There was discussion about introducing it to our membership and trying it for a short time. Matt will provide additional information at a later meeting.

We have speakers for the March and April meetings. If you have additional suggestions for future dates, please let Matt know.

Peggy Anderson has agreed to chair the annual banquet. Also on the committee are Matt, Jeff Poole and Amy Ites. Any suggestions for speakers are welcome.

Amy Ites introduced our guest, Kathy Clifford. Kathy provided members with a brief overview of Rasmussen College, which is now an accredited 4-year degree college with a current enrollment of about 600 at the Mankato campus.

The meeting adjourned at 12:45 pm.

Carol Stallkamp Secretary, MACQ