shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato


Page address:

68th MSSA Senate
January 24, 2001 Minutes

Meeting called to order at 4:03 P.M. by Speaker Roger White Owl

Roll Call (present-absent-proxy)

Senators Present
Michael Groenewold 16-0-0, Lori Fick 7-1-0, Byron Pike 4-0-0, Zach Biesanz 13-3-0, Jack Rector 16-0-0, Courtney Powell 14-2-0, Rachel D. Noah 6-1-0, Stacy Wiech 15-0-1, Karly Klein 15-0-0, Mikel Akers 15-0-0, Amy Bicek 12-2-2, Joe Muggli 8-0-0, Rhys Gaffer 8-0-0, Ian Radtke 16-0-0, Dan Peskorz 3-0-0
Senators Absent
Christina Ische 12-4-0, Nayoki Cormier 11-5-0, Md Mosharof Hossain 1-15-0, Matt Lairmore 9-7-0, Craig Shub 10-6-0, LaRonne Prtichett 4-3-0
Officers Present
President Chris Boyce, Vice President Tim Huebsch

Approval of Minutes 12/6/00 Minutes approved as submitted

Vacancy Elections
Vacancies: College of Allied Health & Nursing, College of Education, Undeclared, SET, Off-Campus
Candidate-Eric Loge, Off-Campus
Mr. Loge-Law Enforcement senior. Past experience included student body president in high school for two years.
Questions for Mr. Loge:
Senator Noah-Are you aware of committee meetings that meet prior to the senate meeting?
Senator Rector-What interest do you have in choosing a committee?
Senator Groenewold-If you were a tree what would you be?
Senator Gaffer-What interests do you have?
President Boyce-What are projects that you would like to work on?
Mr. Loge-I would like to address some form of bar on campus for students, faculty and staff. Some place for everyone to come together.
Senator Gaffer-If you were elected would you solicit your pool of friends for our lobby day?
Elected Off-Campus senator-Eric Loge

Presentation-Marsha Danielson, Director Alumni Relations
Mission of alumni relations is to involve alumni in enhancing Minnesota State University, Mankato and the lives of its alumni and students.
Alumni association wants to facilitate fellowship among current students and alumni through E-Mentoring-this is an 8-10 week program that matches students with alumni working in the field. Currently working with 3M, Federated and other companies. Mentors feel good about giving back and several students have received internships or positions through E-Mentoring.

Real World 101 is also sponsored by Alumni Relations. This program has had many names in the past, such as Dress for Success. A speaker is brought in to prepare students for dinner interviews and proper etiquette, traveling for business etc.

The Student Ambassador program is another alumni involvement for students. Ambassadors are a group of student leaders who give campus tours to prospective students and their parents, host different Alumni and University functions and represent MSU in a number of capacities.

The Alumni Association presents the Senior Gift of a key ring to all graduates.

Alumni communications are enhanced by the Alumni Board-past MSSA
Vice President Jason Patten is currently serving on this board. This Board gives advice and direction on new programs and goals.

MSU alumni have provided financial support for the Taylor Center, Andreas Theater and many programs on campus.

President Chris Boyce is currently on the Alumni board providing student voice. Student Ambassadors also assist the Alumni Board.

Officer Reports

President Chris Boyce
Thanks to all MSUSA representatives.
Appointments: Communication Bd-Ranae Morgan, Bookstore Advisory-James Wartman, Ensuring Cultural Diversity-Khaliun Batmunich, Legislative Affairs-Jona Welle, Night Safety Task Force-Amy Bicek, Mikel Akers, Financial Aid Focus Group-Christina Ische, Rhys Gaffer, Student Affairs-James Wartman, Khaliun Batmunich The governor's budget was not good for Minnesota State. It increased Minnesota State's budget by only $47 million for the 2002-2003 biennium. $40 million is for inflationary costs, and $7 for specific programs. Minnesota State had asked for $153 million. With inflation costs, health care cost increase, salary increases, etc. it will be eaten up. The budget is going backward.
Feb. 14 is Lobby Day.
Senator Gutknect will be here tomorrow for a press conference regarding the $369,000 appropriation that MSU received from Congress. The funds will be used for wireless technology. This conference will be a way for us to thank the Senator for his assistance.
The International Student Office has a new Interim Director. Tom Gjersvig assumed duties in December and has hit the ground running. They need help with the International Festival. This is an awesome event, try to help out.
Women's Center Open house was held today.
Next week I will be giving a State of the Senate address. Will unleash big 10 plans.

Vice President Tim Huebsch
The Wireless Grant we received was for $369,000. This will be used for The Nokia phones that will allow access to high-speed Internet, e-mail etc. Last year we purchased a file system that allows all student to save some documents that will be backed up nightly.
Science Fair is coming up March 3.

Speaker Roger White Owl
Attended MSUSA Conference and was the CD Rep. Important issues came up, for more information contact Angela White Owl.
Senate is open and supportive. DonÕt feel afraid to approach an old senator if you have questions. Senators are required to give 2 reports per semester. If you want to be on the agenda please get things in by Wednesday noon.
Quote,"Confidence-If you have no confidence in yourself you are twice defeated in the race of life, with confidence you have won even before you start."..Marcus Garvey.

Committee Report

Union Board-Rhys Gaffer.
Union Board will meet at 3:30 Thursday. The Master Plan will be on the agenda.


Senator Akers-Clock Synchronization meeting will be held Feb. 6 at 3:30.
Senator Bicek-SAC will meet Monday at 9AM.

Roll Call

Senators present
Michael Groenewold, Lori Fick, Byron Pike, Zach Biesanz, Jack Rector, Courtney Powell, Rachel D. Noah, Stacy Wiech, Karly Klein, Mikel Akers, Amy Bicek, Joe Muggli, Ian Radtke, Rhys Gaffer, Dan Peskorz
Senators absent
Christina Ische, Nayoki Cormier, Craig Shub, Md Mosharof Hossain, LaRonne Pritchett, Matt Lairmore
Executive Staff Present
President Chris Boyce, Vice President Tim Huebsch

Adjournment 5:00 PM