shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato


Page address:

70th MSSA Senate

September 11, 2002

Meeting called to order by Speaker Zach Biesanz

Roll Call (present-absent-proxy-excused)

Senators Present

Chris Forman 4-0-0, Ryan Haugen 4-0-0, Minhaal M. Nathani 3-1-0, Andrew Menden-3-0-1, Jessica Giordani 4-0-0, Rajendra K. Penugonda 4-0-0, Jessica Boyd 4-0-0, Katie Garrity 4-0-0, Mohammed Suhail- 3-0-1, Alex Boyce 4-0-0, C. Rhys Gaffer-proxy Andy Nelson 3-0-1, Joseph Perkins 4-0-0, Ashley Guetter 3-1-0, Anand Agarwal 3-1-0, Gordana Copic 4-0-0, Irfan Bangash 4-0-0, Taimoor Hussain Bangash 4-0-0, Celeste Hollerud-3-0-1, Kashif H. Khan 2-2-0, Ian Radtke43-0-0, Hailey Schmitz 4-0-0,

Senators Absent

Ross McCormick 2-1-1, Cassie Linkenmeyer 2-2-0

Executive Staff Present

Vice President Ali Raza

Approval of Agenda Approved with addition of Blake Frink-MSUSA State Chair to Presentations

Presentation-Women’s Center-Dierdre Rosenfeld, Director

(passed out post-it notes, pen)

Important so that people know of resources available at the Women’s Center, want men and

women to be aware of sexual assault resources and understanding sexual assault-web site has links to help empower and get help for yourself or others. Office also helps fulfill needs of nontraditional students. Sept. 19 Women’s Center is sponsoring Jackson Katz leader in

American manhood and violence against women-gender violence issues. 7:30 SU Ballroom.

MSUSA Campus Rep-Blake Frink

Transferred to MSU from Bemidji, attended all MSUSA Conferences last year. Next MSUSA. conference coming up in Sept. Contact him if you would like to attend.

Approval of Minutes 5/1/02, 9/4/02 Minutes stand approved

Officer Reports

President Joseph Muggli (acting President, Ali Raza)

Appointments: Judicial Board-Rhys Gaffer, Kashif Khan, Union Board- Jessica Boyd, SAC-

Hailey Schmitz, Ensuring Cultural Diversity-Gordana Copic, Bookstore-Celleste Hollerud

MSSA Web Developer-Jessica Boyd.

President Muggli met with Dr. Healy, President Davenport and Tim Penny this week. A small number of students met with Tim Penny and took him on a tour of the university. See Vice President Raza if you are not appointed to 2 committees.

MSUSA Conference-Sept. 20-22, if anyone wants to go to Washington, DC. Nov. 13-17, contact President Muggli. Met with Dr. Davenport-discussed Open Forum. Sept. 24. 12:00 noon on the Mall. Students allowed to ask questions, have lunch. Very important senators attend.

Vice President Ali Raza

Have only received a few senator applications and coordinator applications. Deadline to

apply is Friday. Elections are Tuesday, Sept. 17. Met with Reporter editor regarding Open Forum, we will be putting up posters, and doing other advertising. The President agreed to

a lunch, probably hot dogs. If you have any ideas, contact them.

(Discussion regarding students that do not eat meat)

Speaker Zach Biesanz

Schedule meetings with Speaker regarding Parliamentary Procedures. No Correspondence,

Senator Boyd needs profiles and pictures.

Committee Reports

Elections Committee-Jessica Boyd, Chair

Election Committee met and discussed Fall Election rules. Changes: Article II-Filing, Section A Subsection 1, Section B Subsection 3, Article III: Campaigning, Section 1, Section 4, Subsection c, Subsection d, number 5 (see clerical changes)

Senator Penugonda requests to see hard copy of rules.

Senator Agarwal has questions regarding the right to make amendments to the rules.

Chair Boyd allows time to Election Committee member Katie Garrity to further explain

the clerical changes and why they are necessary.

Chair Boyd-Rules need to be passed this evening as Elections are Tuesday, Sept. 17. Short

notice was due to not having a committee in place.

Motion Passes


Vice President Raza-Cricket tournament, Sept 27-29. Teams coming from NDSU, St. Cloud,

U of M. Three teams from Mankato, please come and watch new sport.

Roll Call

Senators Present

Chris Forman, Ryan Haugen, Minhaal Nathani, Andrew Menden, Jessica Giordani, Rajendcra K.

Penugonda, Jessica Boyd, Katie Garrity, Mohammad Suhail, Alex Boyce, Rhys Gaffer-proxy Andy Nelson, Ashley Guetter, Anand Agarwal, Gordana Copic, Irfan Bangash, Taimoor H. Bangash, Celeste Hollerud, Kashif H. Khan, Ian Radtke, Hailey Schmitz

Senators Absent

Cassandra Linkenmeyer

Executive Staff Present

Vice President Ali Raza

Adjournment 4:47