shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Page address:

71st MSSA Senate

October 8, 2003

Meeting called order by Speaker Zach Biesanz

Roll Call (Present-Absent-Proxy-Excused)

Senators Present

Jessica Cichy3-0-0, Abbas Raza 8-1-0, Muhammad Jiwani 3-0-0 , Rebecca Klatt 3-0-0, Ermira Babamusta 2-1-0, Kristy Anderson 3-0-0, Sudeep Shrestha-proxy Ruth Nieto 2-0-1, Eric Hill 3-0-0, Joshua Brown 3-0-0, Nathan Ettinger 3-0-0, Abuzar Iqbal 3-0-0, Kail Decker 3-0-0, Beth Paulson-1-0-1, Hannah Gehrke 7-2-0, Jessica Boyd 9-0-0, Irfan Bangash 9-0-0, Greg Lessard 9-0-0, Bryan Hart 9-0-0, Faizan M. Khan 9-0-0, Jocelyn Crist 8-0-1, Megan Brandt 8-0-1, Ian Radtke 8-1-0, Rachel Mudd 9-0-0, Muhammad Sohail Rauf 9-0-0 Imran M. Hussein 8-1-0,

Senators Absent

Santiago Vallejo 1-2-0, Ryan Deimerly 7-1-0-2, Dan Poquette 1-1-0

Executive Staff Present

President Rhys Gaffer, Vice President Shahzad Anwer

Student Forum

Andrew Bushard, I am a graduate student. I often fear homecoming. Never in my greatest imagination could I have imagined what happened this year? What was the culprit of this riot? The culprit was alcohol. This was the root. Some say we should work with tavern owners. Guess what the tavern owners are part of the problem, not the solution. They distribute their swill. Who among us has a right to sow disease? No one-. I was happy when I came here and found out this was a dry campus. Dry campus-why not a dry city? Why do we assist on having this type of corruption?. I propose that this body propose a piece of legislation calling on the city to vote on whether the city will allow vendors to sell or distribute alcohol.

Senator Decker-Can you blame a complex issue like this on alcohol?

Mr. Bushard-Certainly not solely.

Senator Cichy-Where you at the riots? Did you actually see the riots?

Mr. Bushard-We can’t all be in the place of events happening, like we all can’t be in Iraq.