shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato


Page address:

72nd Senate Meeting called to order by Speaker Kail Decker

Roll Call

Senators Present

Derek Ritchison 15-0-0, Katie Kendhammer 11-0-0, , Megan Brandt 13-0-0-2, Irfan Bangash 10-1-0, Khumar Raza 5-2-0, Jennifer McGuffey 15-0-0, Melissa Bartley 8-3-0, , Mohammed Omar 12-2-0, Adam Weigold 15-0-0, Shuaib Ibrahim 15-0-0, Trevor Fleck 12-3-0, Taku Kurashige 15-0-0, Thomas Bergstrom 15-0-0, Michael Bruner 5-0-0, Crystal Borchardt 2-0-0, Tim Ibisch 15-0-0, Megan Karsten 10-1-0 , Emily Kofoed 14-1-0, Jessica Cichy 14-0-0-1, Kristopher Lee 11-0-0, Jacly Fishman 8-3-0, Jason Casey 9-2-0, Danielle Thomsen 14-1-0, Rob Wills 3-0-0, Jesse Clift 14-1-0, Matthew Wangerin 15-0-0, Joe Mikolai 11-0-0

Senators Absent

Elizabeth Lange 9-4-0-1, Desiree Rowe 3-2-0

Executive Staff Present

President Anwer, Vice President Copic

Presentation-Justin Bruhn, MSUSA Association Director of Campus Relations

We will be working hard on Tuition Freeze, Danielle Thomsen will be doing an internship for us and working on that here on your campus. At MSUSA this past weekend we did some broad encompassing training on things students can take back and use at their schools. We also did a lobby

training for our DC trip. We did mock meetings with legislators. The Interfaculty Association has passed a motion that students can be excused for lobby day. We need to work hard at getting many students to attend. We also forwarded two names to the Minnesota State Board of

Trustees for student representation on the Minnesota State Board. Tyler Despin has currently been the student on this board..

Coordinator Mudd-What is the legislative agenda position you will be taking this year?

Justin-We are working on the State grant formula as well as other issues, the agenda has not been decided on yet. We are recruiting people from all over to come to Washington DC

and talk about our organized state associations. All states are concerned. We will lobby all legislators

with our agenda.

Approval of Agenda Addition of Student Union Board Committee report

Approval of Minutes 12-1-04 Minutes stand approved

Officer Reports

President Shahzad Anwer

Appointments: Jason Casey, Rob Wills-STR, Rob Wills-Financial Aid Focus Group

I need one more person for the Diversity Task Force. Matt Stein-Web Master

USA Today-it seems about ½ o you want it and ½ of you don’t. We will have someone come

in and talk about it. This would be prepaid newspapers (5) for students.

One more important committee is the Planning Sub Meet & Confer; we need one student for this.

Senator Bruner-Will the papers be like the Wall Street Journal or like in the dorm where you use

your Mav Card.

President Anwer-You would use your Mav Card. I think the only thing bad is that they would then

be available to faculty as well.

Senator Kurashige-Can we discuss what newspapers we want?

President Anwer-We can ask that question at the Presentation.

Vice President Goga Copic

Next semester we will be working on Elections, we need to focus on a better turn-out. We need to

publicize more, you will hear more about this.

You have all heard about the Scholarships we will be giving, we will begin this process soon.

I am done with my Legislative Affairs job analysis. It went well.

Senator Fishman-Do you need graduating senators on Elections and Scholarship?

Vice President Copic-Senators should be graduating for Scholarship.

Speaker Kail Decker

Recognized Student Organizations:

Economics Club, Minnesota State Mankato Men’s Rugby Club, Vietnamese American Student Association (VASA)

Coordinator Reports

Public Relations-Vicki Verhelst

We will be putting your pictures on the website, I would like you to have a quote under your name.

Please fill out the forms being passed out and get them back as soon as possible.

Committee Reports

SAC-Megan Brandt, Co-Chair

SAC Motion 12.08.04A

The Student Allocation Committee recommends allocating up to $288.00 for the MSU, Mankato Ski & Snowboard Club to attend the Hyland Hills ski event

February 26 and February 27, 2005

Motion Passed

SAC Motion 12.08.04B

The Student Allocation Committee recommends allocating up to $288.00 for the MSU,

Mankato Ski & Snowboard Club to attend the Hyland Hills Ski event March 5 and March 6, 2005.

Motion Passed

SAC Motion 12.08.04C

The Student Allocation Committee recommends allocating up to $1,000.00 to Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship to attend the SALT ’05 Retreat/Conference in Rochester, MN.


Motion Passed

SAC Motion 12.08.04D

The Student Allocation Committee recommends allocating up to $450.00 for the Alpha Phi Omega Nu Pi Chapter to attend the APO’s National Convention in Denver CO.

Motion Passed

SAC Motion 12.08.04E

The Student Allocation Committee recommends allocating up to $3277.00 for University Repertory Dance Theatre (U-Rep) to attend the American College Dance Festival at

Iowa State University, Ames, IA.

Motion Passed

SAC Motion 12.08.04F

The Student Allocation Committee recommends allocating up to $600.00 for St.

Thomas More Newman Center to attend the National Catholic Student Coalition

Leadership Conference in Washington D.C..

Motion Passed

Student Union Board, Adam Weigold, Chair

The Muslim Student Association was approved for a RSO Office.

The policy changes on the consultation process for the Student Union of President Anwer were adopted.

Senator Omar-When will we find out about the office.

Senator Weigold-We passed this now it will go to the Administration


Senator Cichy-Happy Holidays

Senator Bartley-Amnesty International-Friday in the ballroom, free, speakers, dance.

Motion: Senator Weigold/Ritchison

Move to send a copy of the agenda to the Reporter’s editorial board with the attached statement. “Look at this official business document with it’s logo”.

Senator Weigold-This is funny, it is just making a statement.

Motion Passed

Roll Call

Senators Present

Derek Ritchison, Katie Kendhammer, Megan Brandt, Irfan Bangash, Khumar Raza, Jennifer McGuffey, Melissa Barley, Mohammed Omar, Adam Weigold, Shuaib Ibrahim, Trevor Fleck, Taku Kurashige, Thomas Bergstrom, Michael Bruner, Crystal Borchardt, Tim Ibisch, Megan Karsten, Emily Kofoed, Jessica Cichy, Kristopher Lee, Jacly Fishman, Jason Casey, Danielle Thomsen, Rob Wills, Jesse Clift, Matthew Wangerin, Joe Mikolai

Senators Absent

Elizabeth Lange, Desiree Rowe

Executive Staff Present

President Anwer, Vice President Copic

Adjournment Meeting adjourned at 5:08 P.M.