shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

COVID-19 campus response and Return to Learn news and updates.



News Highlights

Page address:

MSU Speech Team places 16th nationally; Matthew Collie finishes fifth

MSUís Speech Team placed 16th overall and 2nd in the Presidentís II Division in the National Forensic Associationís national championships, and Junior Matthew Collie ranked fifth overall in Individual Sweepstakes.


MSU's Speech Team placed 16th overall and 2nd in the President's II Division in the National Forensic Association's national championships earlier this month. Junior Matthew Collie ranked fifth overall in Individual Sweepstakes - best individual finish ever for an MSU student.

More than 500 student speakers from across the country competed in the tournament, held April 14-18 at the University of Akron (Ohio).

In addition to ranking fifth overall in Individual Sweepstakes, Collie placed third nationally in Rhetorical Criticism, fourth in Informative Speaking, among the top 12 (semifinalist) in Impromptu Speaking & Extemporaneous Speaking, and among the top 24 (quarterfinalist) in After-Dinner Speaking.

Other MSU students who took part in the National Championship Tournament are Mike Witthaus, Nicole Goebel and Michelle Nyman.

The National Forensic Association includes more than 100 university and college intercollegiate forensic programs. The President's II Division, in which MSU finished second, comprises schools entered in 7-14 national events.

Early this month the MSU team placed 22nd overall at the American Forensic Association National Individual Events Tournament in Manhattan, Kansas. MSU students competing in that tournament included Collie, Cynthia Saba, Emily Kofoed, Karie Menser, Tom Bergstrom, Kim Cossairt, Joshua Randall, Lindsey Thompson, Jamie Kunkel, Elizabeth Drommerhausen, Mitch Batty and David Brennan.

And earlier this year the MSU team captured first in the Minnesota Collegiate Forensic Association State Tournament - the fourth consecutive state victory for the Mavericks.

The MSU team is coached by Director of Forensics Leah White, Assistant Director Brian Klosa, and graduate student coaches Desiree Rowe, Jessica Samens, James Kozinski, David Nadolski, Merci Decker, Suzanne Loen and Sarah Wolter.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives