shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Memorial University outdoor recreation professor TA Loeffler receives 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award

1991 Experiential Education master's degree recipient

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office news release [4/11/2008]

TA Loeffler, professor of outdoor recreation at Memorial University, Newfoundland, received the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award on April 10.

Loeffler, a 1991 Experiential Education master’s degree recipient at Minnesota State Mankato, received the award at an Alumni Association dinner and ceremony.

The Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award goes to Minnesota State Mankato graduates who have achieved high rank or honor in their professions and who had a widespread effect on their communities, and for accomplishments during their careers.

Loeffler, of St. John’s, Newfoundland, is one of four Minnesota State Mankato graduates honored as 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award winners.

Through her work as professor in the School of Human Kinetics and Recreation, as well as a coach, athlete, motivational speaker, author, filmmaker and photographer, Loeffler has inspired and informed hundreds of thousands of people. She has led numerous expeditions in 35 countries and on five continents.

In 2006 she was honored as one of the Top 20 Most Influential Women in Canadian Sports. In 1999 she was named Outstanding Experiential Teacher of the Year, and in 2005 she received the Memorial University President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching. She also has won the Association of Atlantic Universities Distinguished Teaching award, and was named a 2008 3M National Teaching Fellow in Canada.

Minnesota State Mankato is part of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, which comprises 32 state universities, community colleges, technical colleges and combined community and technical colleges located on 53 campuses across the state. The system serves approximately 242,000 students annually.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives