shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Good Thunder Reading Series to host 18 writers

Good Thunder Reading Series to host 18 writers.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office News Release [8-19-11]

Minnesota State University, Mankato’s Good Thunder Reading Series will host 18 writers for eight residencies during the series’ 30th year.

The series invites emerging and established writers to Mankato to meet with community writers and readers, be interviewed on public radio, lead discussions on the craft of writing, and read from their published works.

Cited by the Minnesota Humanities Commission as “the premier small-town reading series in the country,” the series is intended to reflect the diversity and vitality found in contemporary writing.

The fall Good Thunder Reading Series will feature:

Thursday, Sept. 15: Texas fiction and nonfiction writer Debra Monroe and Iowa fiction writer Benjamin Percy, two dynamic voices in contemporary writing.

Thursday, Oct. 13: Connecticut poet Elizabeth Alexander, who read her poem on the U.S. Capitol steps for President Barak Obama’s inauguration.

Monday, Oct. 17 (Robert C. Wright Minnesota Writers Residency): Prose writer and 2011 Wright Award winner Rhea Davison-Edwards and Minnesota fiction writer John Reimringer.

Thursday, Nov. 17 (Minnesota State Mankato faculty residency): Poet and prose writer Candace Black, poet Richard Robbins and fiction writer Roger Sheffer.

All events are open to the public and will be held in the Centennial Student Union. Most series guests will be interviewed on KMSU-FM 89.7 and have their discussions broadcast as part of the “Authors in Transit” series at 1 p.m. on the day of the event and 11 p.m. the following Friday.

The spring 2011-’12 academic year series will feature the Minnesota State Mankato Alumni Residency Jan. 26, 2012, with creative nonfiction writer Bronson Lemer, poet Matt Mauch and fiction writer Christine Stark.

That will be followed by the Eddice B. Barber Visiting Writer Residency – a four-day visit Feb. 14-17 by Washington fiction writer Samuel Ligon and Minnesota poet Kristin Naca.

On March 22 the Nadine B. Andreas Visiting Writer Residency will host fiction writer and 2011-2012 Andreas Graduate Assistant Caitlin O’Sullivan, Missouri poet William Trowbridge and New York poet and Andreas Visiting Writer Sharon Olds.

The series will conclude April 12 with a new voice in fiction, Washington, D.C., writer Danielle Evans and long-established and award-winning Connecticut fiction writer Amy Bloom.

The Good Thunder Reading Series began in 1982 and has committed itself since to programs that balance emerging and established talent drawn from Minnesota, the Upper Midwest, and the rest of the nation.

This year’s Good Thunder Reading Series is funded by the Department of English, the College of Arts & Humanities, the Office of Institutional Diversity, the Nadine B. Andreas Endowment, the Eddice B. Barber Visiting Writer Endowment, the Robert C. Wright Endowment, and individual donors. It is made possible by a Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council grant from the Minnesota Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund, appropriated by the Legislature. Library Services and the Barnes & Noble Bookstore offer additional assistance.

Those who want more information may call Candace Black, Department of English, at (507) 389-2680, or go to

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university, is part of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system, which comprises 32 state institutions.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives