shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Roberts, Bullying Task Force Announces Public Meeting in Mankato

School bullying is topic.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office, 5-9-2012

The Minnesota Governor's Task Force on the Prevention of School Bullying will hold a public comment session on Monday, May 14 for students, parents and community members of the south central Minnesota region, according to Walter Roberts, professor of counselor education at Minnesota State University, Mankato.

The comment session will be from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. in room E123 at South Central Community College, 1920 Lee Boulevard, in North Mankato. Anyone attending should use the Blue Parking Lot and north entrance.

Roberts, who is co-chair of the task force, said the comment session is an excellent opportunity for students and adults to share their concerns and solutions together in a common forum. Roberts is scheduled to be joined by task force co-chair Julie Herzog and task force members Willie Bridges and Thomas Scott.

"As a resident of Mankato and southern Minnesota, I hope that members of your school and community will participate in this public comment session," said Roberts. "This is only one of seven comment sessions to be held statewide. It is important that the task force hear as many viewpoints and perspectives as possible."

 Created through executive order by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton, the task force is comprised of 15 members charged with examining best practices and policies that currently exist to prevent bullying. The panel is further tasked with providing future recommendations to the governor and the legislature on this subject. The listening sessions will provide the opportunity for stakeholders to provide information and insight to task force members that will inform the group's final recommendations to the governor and the legislature.

Members of the task force include the commissioners of the Department of Education, the Department of Human Rights and members of the legislature. Dayton also appointed additional members with experience or expertise in psychology, education, pediatrics and anti-bullying advocacy.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives