shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Wrestling Coach Jim Makovsky Named to Hall of Fame

Mavericks' head coach going into NCAA Division II Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Athletics News Release, 2-12-2013

Mankato, Minn. – The NCAA Division II Wrestling Coaches Association has announced that Minnesota State coach Jim Makovsky (pictured at right) has been selected for induction into its Hall of Fame.

Makovsky will be officially inducted at a ceremony on Thursday, March 7 at 7 p.m. in Birmingham, Ala. The Division II Hall of Fame Ceremony will be held in conjunction with a reception for coaches and dignitaries on the eve of the 51st annual NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships in Birmingham.

A Wahpeton, N.D., native, Makovsky owns a 257-109-4 career record and a 234-90-3 ledger during his 20-year tenure at Minnesota State.

With his 257 wins, Makovsky sits 11th on the all-time wins list amongst Division II coaches and is fourth among active coaches. He has overseen 38 conference champions, three Super Region 3 team championships and led the Mavericks to the 2008 NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals championship.

Including a pair of second-place finishes in 1993-93 and 2007-08, Makovsky has guided the Mavericks to 13 top-ten finishes at the NCAA Division II tournament.

Makovsky has garnered many accolades throughout his tenure – highlighted by the 2008 North Central Conference Legacy Award. He has also been on the National Wrestling Coaches Association Board of Directors since 2003 while also serving as a former president of the association. Makovsky was selected as the honorary coach for the 2009 NCAA Division I All-Star Meet at Ohio State University.

Makovsky becomes the second coach and eighth Maverick overall to be inducted, joining iconic Rummy Macias who coached MSU from 1950-88 and was inducted 1999. MSU wrestlers who have been inducted include Bob Soulek (2004), Jack Eustice (2004), Jim Gale (2004) Howie Gangestad (2008), Larry Amundson (2008) and Tony Kenning (2008).

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives