shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Sept. 21: EMILY's List's Stephanie Schriock

President of national PAC to speak at annual Wood Scholarship Dinner.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office News Release, 9-13-2013

Mankato, Minn. – Stephanie Schriock (pictured at right), president of the political action committee (PAC) EMILY’s List, a national organization dedicated to electing pro-choice Democratic women to political office, is the keynote speaker for the 19th Annual Truman and Reta Wood Scholarship Dinner on Saturday, Sept. 21 in Minnesota State University, Mankato’s Centennial Student Union, Room 253.

The 5 p.m. reception and 5:45 p.m. dinner are open to the public. A silent auction will be conducted during the reception, with proceeds going to the Wood Scholarship Fund. The dinner will honor Minnesota State Mankato’s 2013-14 Wood Scholarship winners, Maria Carrillo-Perez and Kyle Hoffman.

Cost of the event is $60 per person ($40 of which is a tax-deductible gift) or $20 for current Minnesota State Mankato students. Online registration for this event is available here.

Schriock, a native of Butte, Mont., graduated in 1995 from Minnesota State Mankato with a bachelor’s degree in political science/public administration. She did her master’s work at the Graduate School of Political Management at George Washington University. Schriock managed Al Franken’s 2008 winning Senate campaign in Minnesota, and in 2007, Washingtonian magazine named her one of “Forty Under Forty: Young Washingtonians to Watch.”

The EMILY’s List website,, describes Schriock as “a recognized leader, bringing more than 12 years of fundraising, management and strategic planning experience to EMILY’s List. She’s been described as ‘inspirational,’ a ‘star in American politics,’ and ‘a spectacular campaign manager.’”

The Wood scholarship dinner is an annual fundraising event for the Truman and Reta Wood Community Leadership Scholarship at Minnesota State Mankato.

Wood scholarships, the largest scholarships granted by Minnesota State Mankato's College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, are awarded to students who show exceptional community leadership and service, who have a high academic record, whose first major is political science and who completed 90 semester hours by spring 2012. The first Wood Scholarship was awarded in 1992.

The late Dr. Truman David Wood, professor emeritus, taught political science for 30 years at Minnesota State Mankato and encouraged students to get involved in their communities. His wife, Reta Wood, did the same as a local elementary teacher for 25 years. They started their endowment to help students pay for school while being able to work less and volunteer more.

For more information about the Truman and Reta Wood Scholarship dinner, please contact Susan Taylor, director of development for the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, by phone at 507-389-1006 or by email at

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,413 students, is part of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system, which comprises 31 state institutions.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives