shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Club Handball Team Finishes Second at Nationals

Competition included 50 teams from United States, Ireland, Canada.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office News Release, 2-27-2014

Mankato, Minn. – The Minnesota State University, Mankato club handball team finished second nationally in Division 1 at the United States Handball Association’s National Collegiate Handball tournament held from Feb. 19-24 at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, N.C.

Team members pictured in the photo include:

  • Back row (left to right): coach John Stoffel, Ricky Ness, Kevin Pattain, Joe Nordahl, Trent Edwards, Tyler Edwards, Jerad Michels, Cody Kutil, Matt Job, coach Mike Wells
  • Middle row (left to right): Josh Hoflock, Natalie Lange, Billy Craig, Tikhon Esaulenko, Missy Kohout, Courtney Johnson, Tom Werner, Brady Grimm
  • Front row (left to right): Jessica Herion, Tori Swanson, Sara Schoborg, Megan Heibel, Aleesa Novy, Vanessa Arndt, Shannon Strand

Fifty teams from the United States, Ireland, and Canada competed for the combined team title, with Lake Forest College of Chicago winning the team championship and the Mavericks finishing second.

In the combined category (men’s and women’s), Minnesota State Mankato’s second-place finish was ahead of teams from the University of Texas, University of Illinois, Michigan State University, and University of Minnesota.

All of those teams are perennial national club handball powers, said Mike Wells, one of two Mavericks club team coaches. Wells said that this year marked the first time since 2003 that a team other than Lake Forest or Missouri State had finished either first or second.

Complete tournament team results are available here.

At the tournament, Minnesota State Mankato juniors Megan Heibel and Shannon Strand each received a John Sabo Sr. Scholarship.

Two Sabo scholarships are awarded annually to university handball student/athletes with outstanding academic records who demonstrate financial need. Heibel and Strand were both awarded $1,000 scholarships, marking the first time in the history of the prestigious award that both scholarships went to players at the same university, said Wells.

Following are individual Minnesota State Mankato highlights:

  • Sara Schoborg, sophomore, finished tied for 11th in the women’s open division. This is the highest individual finish ever by a Minnesota State Mankato player.
  • Kevin Pattain, a junior, won an individual singles championship in division 2 intermediate, defeating Anthony Bryson from Angelo State University, 21-17, 21-7.
  • Missy Kohout and Jessica Herion, both juniors, teamed to win the women’s B doubles championship, defeating the University of Minnesota’s Elisabeth Winberg and Katie Heinemann 21-0, 21-16.
  • Ricky Ness, freshman, was runner-up in the men’s division 1B, losing to Sean Foley, University College, Dublin, 21-19, 18-21, 11-7.
  • Jerad Michels, a junior and a Mankato West High School graduate, was runner-up in the men’s division 1C, losing to Ian Schlesinger, University of Texas, 21-9, 17-21, 11-4.
  • Tori Swanson, junior, was runner-up in the women’s division 2A, losing to Kaneish Goodworth, Utah State University, 21-12, 12-21, 11-9.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,409 students, is part of the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities system, which comprises 31 state institutions.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives