shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

Chandler Holland Honored with Outstanding Service Award

Holland one of five to be recognized by system office.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities News Release, 4-22-2015

 Media Contact:
Doug Anderson
Director, Communications and Media
Office: (651) 201-1426


ST. PAUL, Minn., April 22, 2015 – Excellence in facilities management and leadership was on display when seven individuals were presented awards recognizing outstanding work at a recent conference of facilities professionals from the campuses of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.

“The professionals honored through this award work tirelessly behind the scenes to make our campuses inviting, safe, and efficiently run,” said Chancellor Steven Rosenstone. “They make each campus a place where faculty and staff can help students realize their dreams. We are grateful for all they do, day in and day out.”

The Chancellor’s Award is presented to individuals or teams whose efforts support the MnSCU Strategic Framework and result in improvements in financial management, services, or processes throughout MnSCU. Award criteria focus on innovation, collaboration, and new work that is above and beyond regular duties. This year, the Chancellor’s Award was presented to:

  • Daniel Alberts, Campus Security Supervisor, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • Jeff Goebel, Physical Plant Manager, Minnesota State University Moorhead

Outstanding Service Awards are presented to individuals or teams who provide outstanding service at the campus level. Award criteria focus on those who have made significant system contributions that warrant recognition. This year, Outstanding Service Awards were presented to:

  • Chandler Holland, Director, Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Mike Howe, Director of Safety and Security, Riverland Community College
  • Karen Kedrowski, Vice President of Finance and Administration, Northeast Higher Education District
  • Al Kluever, Director of Safety and Security, South Central College
  • Dave Marshall, Director of Facilities, Vermilion Community College

The Chancellor’s Award and the Outstanding Service Award were first presented in 1997 and publicly recognize outstanding contributions of college and university employees who work in financial management. This subset of that practice recognizes staff responsible for the operation and maintenance of 28 million square feet of facilities space on the 54 campuses of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system as well as campus safety, security, environmental compliance, and emergency management planning.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system includes 24 two-year community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving more than 410,000 students. It is the fifth-largest higher education system of its kind in the United States.

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives