shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Latest information about COVID-19 and the campus community


News Highlights

Page address:

May 6: 2017 Spring Commencement

Ceremonies will be held at 9 a.m., noon and 3 p.m.

Minnesota State University, Mankato Media Relations Office News Release, 5-1-2017

Mankato, Minn. – Approximately 1,500 Minnesota State University, Mankato students will participate in three spring commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 6 in Taylor Center’s Bresnan Arena. The ceremonies will be at 9 a.m., noon and 3 p.m.

Students in the colleges of Arts & Humanities and Science, Engineering & Technology will take part in the 9 a.m. ceremony; those in the colleges of Allied Health & Nursing and Education will participate in the noon event; and students in the colleges of Business and Social & Behavioral Sciences participate in the 3 p.m. ceremony.

Candidates for graduate degrees will graduate with the college of their affiliation.

Music for the processional and recessional at the three ceremonies will be orchestrated by Douglas Snapp, directed by Amy Roisum Foley and produced by Michael Olson. Snapp, Roisum Foley and Olson are faculty members in Minnesota State Mankato’s Department of Music.

The national anthem will be performed at the ceremonies by graduating students Samantha Lange, Department of Music (9 a.m.), Erin T. Horst, Department of Theatre and Dance (noon), and Rachel S. Anoh, Department of Management, and Arielle E. Farness, Department of Marketing and International Business (3 p.m.).

Elise Bourdeau, a member of the Board of Trustees for the Minnesota State Colleges & Universities and a 2013 Minnesota State Mankato graduate, will greet the candidates. Chris Meyer, a 1990 Minnesota State Mankato graduate and president of the Minnesota State Mankato Alumni Association, will welcome new graduates to the association. President Richard Davenport will present diplomas to the new graduates.

Student speakers for the 9 a.m. ceremony will be Erin T. Horst, Vinton, Iowa, College of Arts and Humanities, and Bassam Al-Mohamadi, Yemen, College of Science, Engineering and Technology.

Student speakers for the noon ceremony will be Kaitlyn R. Sturdy, Brooklyn Park, Minn., College of Allied Health and Nursing, and Aaron B. Hagen, Albert Lea, Minn., College of Education.

Student speakers for the 3 p.m. ceremony will be Austin P. Raebel, Oakdale, Minn., College of Business, and Akorede A. Teriba, Bloomington, Minn., College of Social and Behavioral Sciences.

More information about the Minnesota State Mankato spring commencement is at

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,110 students, is part of the Minnesota State system, which comprises 31 state institutions. 

Email this article | Permanent link | Topstories news | Topstories news archives