shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Parking & Transportation Advisory Committee

Page address: and Transportation Advisory Committee/

lThe Parking & Transportation Advisory Committee exists to develop recommendations on all parking, traffic, and transportation policies. It also makes recommendations on lot maintenance projects and budgets of Minnesota State self-sustaining parking and transportation program, including bus services and shuttles. It also designates permit stall locations and permit color assignments, and submits lot development plans for review and modification. The Committee reports to the University President through the Vice President for Finance and Administration (or designee). Each February the Advisory Committee's recommendations affecting the next academic year are presented at the Annual Hearing on Parking Policies, Budget and Capital Improvements - following testimony taken for the public hearing the Committee meets and makes final recommendations to the Administration which then rejects modifies, or approves. Throughout the year the Advisory Committee presents information to groups like the Student Senate and the Budget Sub-Meet & Confer Committee in its effort to solicit feedback on proposals.

Voting members include a representative from: Faculty Association; MSU Association of Administrative and Service Faculty (MSUAASF); the classified employee organizations; Minnesota State Student Association (MSSA); a representative of the Residence Hall Association of the MSSA; and the Administration. Nonvoting ex-officio members include but are not limited to a representative from MMA (Middle Management Association), MAPE (Minnesota Association of Professional Employees), Parking Citation Appeals Board liaison, Student Financial Services, Department of Residential Life, Residence Hall Association, Facilities Management Planning & Construction Department, and Parking & Traffic Services. When regular Advisory Committee members cannot attend a meeting, designated alternates may be used.


Voting Parking & Transportation Advisory Committee Members

Cowan Voting Member - Administration
David Cowan, Chair
Facilities Services Office
Wiecking Center 358
(507) 389-5466

Committees: Administration Representative
Voting Member - Classified Employees
Mike Cofield
Building Services
Weicking Center 330
(507) 389-6804

Classified Employee Representative

Voting Member - MSUAASF Employees

Alexis Paladini
MSUAASF Representative Government Department

Office: (507) 389-1011

Shirley Peipho, MSUAASF Alternate Representative
Government Department
Office: (507) 389-2223

Voting Member - Off-Campus Students

Sanjay Balami
Off-Campus Student Assn. Representative
(617) 586 5472

Voting Member - Residence Hall Students

Andrew Trenne
On-Campus Residential Hall Student
(612) 386 1257

Voting Member - Faculty Association

Seong Jin (Tommy) Kim
Faculty Association Representative
Construction Management
WC 354
Office: (507) 389-2718

Ex-Officio Nonvoting Board Members

Stomper Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member
Jodi Orchard

Office: (507) 389-5007

Student Financial Services Representative
Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member
Sue Edstrom

Office: (507) 389-2111

Parking & Traffic Services Coordinator & Parking Citation Appeals Board Liaison

Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member
Cynthia Janney

Office: (507) 389-1011

Residential Life Office

Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member

Andrew Trenne
Residence Hall Student Association President

Office: (612) 386 1257


Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member
Twyla Tinney
Middle Management Association

Student Financial Service
Office: (507) 389-5046


Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member


Minnesota Association of Professional Employees (MAPE) Representative

Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member
Nathan Huettl

Office: (507) 389-1027

Planning and Construction


Ex-Officio Nonvoting
Board Member

Shirley Peipho

Office: (507) 389-2223

University Scheduling