shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato


Page address:

About the Awards

The Maverick Momentum Scholarships were created to recognize the hard work of Minnesota State University, Mankato degree-seeking students in their lives as students, workers and campus or community volunteers. It offers the five scholarships below and is funded by the Minnesota Sate, Mankato community and the sponsors of the Scholarship BBQ.

Students May Apply for one of the five Scholarships

  • Maverick Momentum Undergraduate Scholarship ($1,000)
    • Open to all undergraduate students
    • 2 Undergraduate scholarships will be awarded this year. 
  • Maverick Momentum Graduate Scholarship ($1,000)
    • Open to all Graduate students
  • Maverick Momentum Study Abroad Scholarship ($1,000)
    • Open to all students who will be studying abroad for a minimum of 15 weeks during Fall or Spring semester 2014-15 on a program pre-approved by the Kearney International Center
  • Maverick Momentum International Student Scholarship ($1,000)
    • Open to students attending Minnesota State Mankato on an F student visa

Eligibility Requirements

Complete applications will contain:

  • A completed application form
  • An unofficial transcript from the Campus Hub demonstrating a cumulative GPA of 3.0
  • Have had a job/volunteer position on or off campus within the last 12 months
  • 500 word essay describing your leadership in the classroom, involvement in extracurricular activities and community engagement, and work you do to support your studies. The essays should include plans after graduation and why you believe you deserve the award.
  • One reference letter from a work/volunteer supervisor or person familiar with the applicant's campus and/or community service.

Applications must be submitted to the Human Performance office (HC 1400) by 3:30 p.m. on Monday, March 24th

[PDF] Scholarship Application (46 KiB)

Scholarship Winners for Spring 2013:

Study Abroad:

  1. Kate Ledegar


  1. Maria Cruz


  1. Myra Colakovic
  2. Abdi Sabrie


  1. Alesha Sullivan



University Dining Services

Major Sponsors