shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

COVID-19 campus response and Return to Learn news and updates.




Page address:

Center For Renewable Energy Research - Home of the Emissions Lab and International Renewal Energy Technology Institute (IRETI)

Groundbreaking Ceremony for Center for Renewal Energy Research - Emissions Lab and IRETI (International Renewal Energy Technology Institute)

Event held on Friday, November 13, 2009, in the back of Wiecking Center at Minnesota State University, Mankato.

  • "Breaking Ground" MSU Reporter Newspaper Story - November 17, 2009

  • Click here to view the event program.

    John Knox, Dean of the College of Science, Engineering & Technology, leads off event by welcoming 70 guests and visitors. Richard Davenport, President of Minnesota State University, Mankato, speaks to the University's commitment to the project. Ruth Grendahl, Board of Trustees Vice Chair of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State) System.
    Minnesota State Senator Kathy Sheran talks about cooperation among the legislators to get the program
    moving along.
    Minnesota State Representative Bob Gunther speaks about the need now and for the future. Minnesota State Senator Julie Rosen thanks all who have contributed.
    Kirk Ready, retired Chairman of the Automotive and Manufacturing Engineering Technology Department, thanks former College Dean Dr. John Frey. Interm IRETI Director John Frey talks about the plan and direct link to the University's mission. Bengt-Erik Lőfgren, ÄFAB CEO, empasizes the importance of this new Institute and its relationship with Swedish firms and the University.
    Bengt-Erik Lőfgren, ÄFAB CEO, trades a comment or two with Bruce Jones, AMET Department Chairman, as Tom Riley, Greater Mankato Growth's New Business Development Director, looks on. DeVonna Zeug, Minnesota Corn Growers Association President Bruce Jones, Chairman of the Automotive & Manufacturing Engineering Technology Department, enjoys the moment.
    Participants enjoying comforts of cold storage warehouse just prior to the beginning of the ceremony. Threat of rain and high winds made this alternate gathering place a good idea. Sean McGoldrick, MSU Assistant Vice President for Facilities Management. Sean is in charge of constructing the building. Golden shovels and hard hats were key instruments in launching the new Center's building site.
    From left to right:
    John Frey (Interim Director of IRETI), Bob Gunther (Minnesota State Representative), Julie Rosen (Minnesota State Senator), Ruth Grendahl (Minnesota State Colleges & Universities Board of Trustees Vice Chair), Richard Davenport (Minnesota State University, Mankato President), Bengt-Erik Lőfgren (ÄFAB CEO), Kathy Sheran (Minnesota State Senator), DeVonna Zeug (Minnesota Corn Growers Association President), John Knox (Dean of the College of Science, Engineering & Technology)
    From left to right:
    Bruce Jones (Automotive & Manufacturing Engineering Technology Department Chair), Paul Steevens (Automotive Engineering Technology Technician), Bob Gunther (Minnesota State Representative), Minnesota State University Student, Julie Rosen (Minnesota State Senator), Ruth Grendahl (Minnesota State Colleges & Universities Board of Trustees Vice Chair), Kirk Ready (Retired Chairman of Automotive & Manufacturing Engineering Technology), Richard Davenport (Minnesota State University, Mankato President), Craig Evers (Automotive Engineering Technology Professor), Bengt-Erik Lőfgren (ÄFAB CEO), Gary Mead (Automotive Engineering Technology Professor), Al Wodtke (Manufacturing Engineering Technology Technician), Kathy Sheran (Minnesota State Senator)