shortcut to content

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Violations

Page address: http://www.mnsu.edu/vehicles/policies/violations.html

Violations

Violation: Allowing unauthorized passengers in state vehicle(s).
Consequence:
1st - Warning
2nd - $25 fine
3rd - $25 fine and/or suspension

Violation:  Charging personal items on the fuel cards provided for the purchase of fuel or related vehicle materials.
Consequence:  Fine equal to the value of the item under question plus an additional $5.

Violation: Failure to fuel state vehicle prior to return to dedicated state stall
Consequence:
1st - Warning
2nd - $25 fine
3rd - $25 fine and/or suspension
 
Violation:  Driving complaints from a concerned tax-paying citizen (driving recklessly, driving over the speed limit, etc.).
Consequence: Warning Letter

Violation:  Driving under the influence of alcohol, amphetamines, narcotic drugs, or allowing "open bottle" of an alcoholic substance.
Consequence:  Prohibited from using a state vehicle for a time approved by the Facilities Services Office.

Violation:  Driving with a revoked, suspended or withdrawn driver's license.
Consequence:  Prohibited from using a state vehicle for a time approved by the Facilities Services Office.

Violation:  Failing to notify vehicle reservation desk of a vehicle cancellation within 24 hours prior to the scheduled departure time.
Consequence:  Fine up to cost of the daily rental rate for the specified vehicle reserved.

Violation:  Failing to pick the vehicle up within 2 hours of the scheduled time.
Consequence:  Reservation will be cancelled, and an appropriate rate will be charged consistent with reservation charges to a maximum of $25 fine.

Violation:  Keeping the vehicle overnight without prior approval.
Consequence:  Up to $25 fine

Violation:  Failure to return state vehicle by scheduled return date.
Consequence:  Additional day charge per type of vehicle, up to the total cost of following trip cost.                                     

Violation:  Leaving the scene of an accident, if the accident resulted in a personal injury or death.
Consequence:  Prohibited from using a state vehicle for a time approved by the Facilities Services Office.

Violation:  Returning the vehicle late without prior approval or a justifiable reason (weather, mechanical problems, etc.).
Consequence:  up to $25 fine
 

 

 Violations from Legal Authority

Sanction

A. Speeding 

     10 - 15 miles an hour over

  • Ticket paid by driver
  • $ 10 fine to department
  • 1 week suspension of state vehicle driving privileges
     16 - 25 miles an hour over
  • Ticket paid by driver
  • $ 25 fine to department
  • Two week suspension of state vehicle driving privileges
     26 miles and over
  • Ticket paid by driver
  • $ 50 fine to department
  • Suspension at least 30 days of state vehicle driveway privileges
B. Driving Under Influence
  • Ticket paid by driver
  • Two year suspension of state vehicle driving privileges
C. Reckless / Careless Driver
  • Ticket paid by driver
  • Up to $ 50 fine to department
  • Up to 30 day suspension

Violation:  Student Organization taking a trip over 400 miles without the presence of a staff person and/or a graduate assistant (1 staff person to every 11 students or a like ratio approved by the Facilities Services Office).
Consequence: Prohibited from using a state vehicle for a time approved by the Facilities Services Office.

Violation:  Submitting false data on the on-line vehicle reservation screen/CA0-38 Vehicle Use form to gain reduction in final costs to department/club accounts.  Ex: Traveling over State of Minnesota borders while submitting in state travel destination.

Consequence: Prohibited from using a state vehicle for a time approved by the Facilities Services Office.

Violation:  Vandalizing vehicle.

Consequence:
1st - warning
2nd - $25 fine
3rd - $25 fine and/or suspension

Violation:  Trash left in vehicle.
Consequence:
1st - warning
2nd - $25 fine
3rd - $25 fine and/or suspension

Violation:  Damage to vehicle due to improper usage                

Consequence:
1st - $25 fine or up to repair costs (depending on labor and type of damage)

2nd - $50 fine or up to to repair costs

3rd - Repair costs and/or suspension
 

 Violation:  Vehicle damaged in collision with a another vehicle or with fixed object when it is determined that the collision occurred when the MSU vehicle was being used for non-MSU related business or side trips.
Consequence:  $25 fine or up to the cost of repairs

 Violation:  Vehicle damaged in collision with another vehicle or fixed object when it is determined the MSU driver is negligent.

Consequence:  Department is charged the $500 insurance deductible (deductible not recovered through subrogation) per accident claim.

Violation:  Vehicle repairs.  Failure to contact MSU Facilities Services for emergency repairs during normal business hours.  Emergency repairs cover only batteries, tires, ignition parts, filters, fan belts, wiper blades, antifreeze, lamps, towing, etc., a limited total of $250.
Consequence:  Minimum of $25 up to the cost of repair.