Minnesota State Mankato Vice President Lynn Akey Named Chancellor at University of Wisconsin-Parkside

Akey has served at Minnesota State Mankato since July 2000

September 26, 2023 | News Story

Lynn AkeyMankato, Minn. – Lynn Akey, vice president for student success, analytics and integrated planning at Minnesota State University, Mankato, has been appointed chancellor at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside, located near Kenosha, Wisconsin, effective Jan. 2.

Akey (pictured at right) has overseen strategic planning at Minnesota State Mankato for the past 10 years, and in her current position, established a new student success approach that has led to increased re-enrollment, retention and graduation rates.

Minnesota State Mankato President Edward Inch congratulated Akey on her new position and expressed his gratitude for her numerous contributions to Minnesota State Mankato, including her efforts most recently on the University’s “Destination 2030” strategic plan.

“Dr. Akey’s leadership at Minnesota State Mankato has steered our University’s direction to be one of student focus and data-driven priorities,” said Inch. “I am grateful for the impact she has had on the University. I have no doubt she will bring forth great success for the University of Wisconsin-Parkside.”

Inch said Akey will continue in her current role until the end of November and details about a farewell reception in her honor will be announced this fall, as will plans for leading the Division of Student Success Analytics and Integrated Planning upon Akey’s departure.

Akey joined Minnesota State Mankato in July 2000 and has served in her current position since February 2019.

Among the administrative roles in which Akey has served at Minnesota State Mankato include positions as associate vice president for institutional research, strategy and effectiveness (December 2017-February 2019); and assistant vice president for institutional research, planning and assessment (November 2013-December 2017).

Akey served in director roles in the areas of institutional research, planning and assessment from March 2009 to October 2013 and before that held positions as assistant to the vice president for student affairs; assessment coordinator; and assistant director for academic initiatives in the Office of the First Year Experience.

Akey received the Minnesota State System Academic and Student Affairs Administrator of the Year in 2021.

Akey is the fifth cabinet member at Minnesota State Mankato since 2002 to go on to become a university or college president or chancellor. Scott Olson served as provost and vice president of academic affairs at Minnesota State Mankato from 2003 until being named president at Winona State University in 2012. Olson became chancellor of the Minnesota State system in 2023. Anne Blackhurst, who served as acting vice president for academic and student affairs at Minnesota State Mankato in 2010-2011, was named provost and senior vice president of Minnesota State University Moorhead in 2011. Blackhurst became president of MSU Moorhead in 2014. Michael Miller served as the interim vice president for university advancement and dean of the college of education at Minnesota State Mankato before assuming a presidency in 2010 at Northland College in Ashland, Wisconsin. Marilyn Wells served as provost and senior vice president of academic affairs at Minnesota State Mankato from 2013-2019 until becoming chancellor at Penn State Brandywine in Media, Pennsylvania.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 14,482 students, is part of the Minnesota State system, which includes 26 colleges and seven universities.

Categories: News Story