Department of Social Work to Honor Alumni with Social Work Family Legacies at Honors Day

Annual Social Work Honors Day is Friday, March 30.

March 26, 2018 | Announcement

Mankato, Minn. – Minnesota State University, Mankato’s Department of Social Work, as part of the University’s sesquicentennial, is recognizing alumni with family legacies of social work in its annual Social Work Honors Day event Friday, March 30 at 10 a.m. in Centennial Student Union, Room 245. A 9:30 a.m. reception will precede the 10 a.m. program.

The Department of Social Work will recognize 38 families with multiple family members who are Minnesota State Mankato alumni or current students in the University’s social work programs. One family has three generations of social workers, and another has a father and two daughters.

Media interested in attending the event should contact David Beimers, associate professor and chair of the Department of Social Work, by email at or by phone at 507-389-6190.

The guest speaker will be Jessica Toft, president of the National Association of Social Workers Minnesota Chapter.

The University’s Department of Social Work will present two individual awards and one organizational award during the event.

The department will present the Social Work Alumna of the Year award to Liz Keck (class of 1996, master of social work 2012) and the New Social Worker of the Year award to Lacey Wegner (class of 2016).

The Collaborative Agency of the Year Award will be presented to the St. Peter Regional Treatment Center.

In addition, Minnesota State Mankato’s Department of Social Work will recognize social work student scholars and scholarship recipients at the event.

For more information, please contact Minnesota State Mankato’s Department of Social Work at 507-389-6504.

Minnesota State Mankato’s Department of Social Work is part of the University’s College of Social and Behavioral Sciences.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 14,712 students, is part of the Minnesota State system, which includes 30 colleges and seven universities.

Categories: Announcement