shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Vehicle Consent Form

Page address:

State Vehicle Driving Status

September 18, 2009 - The guideline for driver's license record checks has been developed as part of the Travel Management Procedure 5.19.3 and is now available at:

The standards that are utilized for the Vehicle Consent Form by Risk Management's Motor Vehicle Record check are as follows:  [PDF] vehicles/summary_of_drivers_vua.pdf (43 KiB)

Complete and submit this form if you wish to drive a state vehicle.  The following is the link for the Vehicle Use Consent Form submission: This information will be directly transmitted to Risk Management, who will initiate a request for your Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) for review.  An e-mail will be submitted to you verifying your driving status within 5 - 7 business days for motor vehicle record verifications for the State of Minnesota. 

There are several states that Risk Management is not able to obtain records from. If you have a driver's license from one of the following states:  California, Colorado, Georgia, Maryland, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Washington or West Virginia you will need to request your Motor Vehicle Record personally from the Department of Motor Vehicle Services from your state, upon receipt submit your motor vehicle record to Helen Walters at Facilities Services WC358 or send by e-mail to: helen.walters@mnsu.ed.  You should allow 10 business days for out of state motor vehicle record verifications. 

 Drivers on state business

o       Approved and valid licensed drivers may use state vehicles for Minnesota State or university business. Drivers include state employees, contract employees (if the authorization to drive a state vehicle is specifically mentioned in the contract with the vendor) and students on university approved business. (Existing practice conforms with Minnesota Statutes Chapter 16B.55.) Students driving to and from internships and student teaching practicums do not fall within what is viewed as Minnesota State or university business this is considered personal usage for personal career.

o   Minnesota State "Vehicle Use Procedures" state that drivers operating vehicles within the State of Minnesota must be at least 18 years of age and have possessed for at least two years a valid and unrestricted drivers license from a U.S. State or Canadian Province. We have the opportunity to utilize a on-line process for your convenience Vehicle Use Consent Form.

o    A student is not allowed to use a state vehicle to go to and from their internship, student teacher practicum, nursing clinical, etc.

o   You do not need to complete the Vehicle Consent form if you are driving a personal vehicle.

          State Business (a.k.a. Minnesota State or University Business). State law requires that public funds, facilities, and equipment not be used for activities other than those clearly supporting the business of the state. Approved travel incorporates business meetings, authorized conventions, conferences and workshops, and as well as employee teaching assignments. Student travel to and from on-campus or off-campus classes, clinics, and practicums is not considered to fall within the scope of authorized Minnesota State or University travel. Field trips which are an integral part of the academic curriculum are authorized.

Effective March 6, 2009 - Office of the Chancellor announced "We have found extra territorial automobile liability coverage for drivers under 21 years old. This means there is no longer age restrictions on drivers beyond our state borders." Drivers age 21 or younger, with a valid drivers license on university business may driver a state vehicle beyond the state of Minnesota borders as long as they have an acceptable Vehicle Consent Form Rating.  vehicles/auto_liability_insurance_memo.pdf