shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Global Education Advisory Council

Page address:

The Global Education Advisory Council:

Promotes the University's commitment to cultivate global perspectives in the classroom, on campus, in the community, and through cross-cultural and international experiences.

Consults with and advises the President, Provost, Academic and Student Affairs units, Colleges, Minnesota State Student Association (MSSA) and Recognized Student Organizations (RSOs) to develop and sustain relevant goals and objectives set forth in the University's Strategic Plans* and mission statements.

Identifies short-term and long-term goals for internationalizing Minnesota State Mankato, e.g. policies and procedures, designated and sustained funding for course and program development, use of distance learning, internationally-focused classes and majors, conferences, research collaboration.

*Recommends and develops criteria and processes for proposed international partnerships and activities.

    For example, the 2010-2015 University Strategic Plan, Goal 3, Objective D:

  • "Study Abroad. Through 2014, increase the number of study abroad students and student exchanges each successive year by 15%.
  • International Partnerships. By 2014, double the number of international partnerships based on new international partnership initiatives.
  • Faculty Exchanges. Increase the number of faculty and staff exchange opportunities.
  • Travel Supplements. Provide resources to supplement international travel."

Update to Name and Charge
Proposed by the International Programs Advisory Council
Endorsed by the IFO and MSUAASF
Approved by Interim Provost Linda Baer
March 2013

To replace charge of 2/16/99

2017-2018 Global Education Advisory Council Members

Name Unit Appointment Term
Ron Browne Education IFO 2017-2018
Rajeev Bukralia CSET IFO 2017-2018
Anne Dahlman Director of the Honors Program Administrative 2017-2018
Hans-Peter DeRuiter Allied Health & Nursing IFO 2017-2018
Robert Fleischman Associate Provost Administrative 2016-2017
Abo-El-Yazee Habib Business IFO 2017-2018
Chandler Holland Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management MAPE 2017-2018
Erica Johnson Registrar MSUAASF 2017-2018
Jessie Mancilla Multi-Cultural Center MSUAASF 2017-2018
Brice Matthews Residential Life MSUAASF 2017-2018
Rama Mohapatra Social & Behavioral Sciences IFO 2017-2018
Steven Powell Student Financial Services MSUAASF 2017-2018
Guadalupe Quintero Institutional Diversity MSUAASF 2017-2018
Richard Robbins Arts & Humanities IFO 2016-2017
Ex Officio
Stephen Stoynoff Dean of Global Education
Nancy O’Brien Education Abroad & Away
Alissa Morson Education Abroad & Away
Xochitl Valencia Education Abroad & Away